Grace and Frankie: Season 1 Reviews

November 13, 2015
Grace And Frankie is plagued by caricature.
May 11, 2015
I realized that Grace and Frankie was a hangout sitcom about older people. In and of itself, that's not a bad idea, but the show is constantly defeated by some of the hangout sitcom's worst qualities.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 11, 2015
More often than not, I found myself caring more about the actresses than the characters they played - finding their show a little wan but wanting it to work.
May 8, 2015
The show plays like an overreaching network sitcom that wandered online.
May 8, 2015
One wishes Grace and Frankie... was a funnier, less painfully predictable new take on the dated, Odd Couple-style comedy.
May 8, 2015
It's tough to imagine a worse fit for Netflix. A sluggish, groanworthy comedy about depressed roommates? Who wants to binge that?
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 8, 2015
As much as I believe we are in a post-sitcom world, I found myself wishing for a traditional laugh track when I watched Netflix's new comedy Grace and Frankie. It would have broken up the tedium.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 8, 2015
It veers recklessly and off-puttingly between brash one-liners and angst drama, between kooky times and personal tragedy, like a nervous guest doing stand-up at a shiva.
May 8, 2015
Mostly content to recycle old jokes in a new context.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 7, 2015
Grace and Frankie's limited sense of imagination is as plain as the chair upholstered with an image of Ryan Gosling's face that Robert and Sol special-order for their new household (because they're gay, get it?).
May 7, 2015
They play like sitcom characters plopped down in a cable-dramedy world, delivering dialogue... full of one-liners that feel like they're setting up studio audience laughter that never comes.
May 7, 2015
Grace and Frankie strains very hard for laughter of any sort.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 7, 2015
Grace and Frankie doesn't feel real enough, which is too bad, considering how direly our society needs real stories about women, about queer people, about older people, and about change.
May 7, 2015
Grace and Frankie is not entirely worthy of them, which is disappointing, especially since its co-creator, alongside Howard J. Morris, is Marta Kauffman, a co-creator of Friends.
Top Critic
May 7, 2015
The opening episode creaks and groans under the weight of a malnourished premise that feels like an update of an old movie, say, The First Wives Club. The setup is stagey, the dialogue slack (or -- worse -- obvious).
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 6, 2015
You might find yourself asking why it exists at all.
April 27, 2015
A show featuring septuagenarians beyond the ad-free confines of PBS is... an intriguing patch on the streaming service's programming quilt. It's only too bad, given the talent involved, that the design looks so conspicuously factory-made.