La Dolce Vita: The Music of Italian Cinema


Episode Info

Memorable themes from Italian cinema written by such composers as Luis Bacalov, Stelvio Cipriani, Ennio Morricone and Nino Rota are performed by the New York Philharmonic, under the baton of Alan Gilbert, with Josh Groban, Renée Fleming and Joshua Bell. The concert includes selections from "Amarcord" (Rota); "The Anonymous Venetian" (Cipriani); "Cinema Paradiso" (Morricone); "City of Women" (Bacalov); "Profumo di Donna" (Armando Trovajoli); and "Mondo Cane" (Riz Ortolani and Nino Oliviero).