Happyish: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
August 31, 2017
That could work, if this was funny - or even funnyish - but it's just unpleasant, mostly.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 26, 2017
It's a real mixed bag - brilliant and original in parts, average in others.
May 21, 2015
Warning! Do not watch Happyish. I'm still trying to scrub the first two episodes out of my eyes.
May 8, 2015
Misery loves company, but it also loves a light at the end of the tunnel.
May 4, 2015
Happyish... gets off to a rocky start but may be on to something.
May 1, 2015
Happyish exceeds my unhappiness threshold, and I've had more than enough.
April 28, 2015
We're left with a funny, original comedy - not enough to counter the absurdity of life but probably enough to make us forget it for a half hour.
April 28, 2015
The show is very much about Thom and his "struggles," which are far too often presented in a series of high-decibel, gratuitously profane diatribes about the habits of others without benefit of anything remotely resembling personal perspective.
April 28, 2015
Dark comedy wallows in explicit language and sex talk.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 27, 2015
Watching it, you'll laugh a lot, but you'll also find yourself wanting to say, "Lighten up, dude."
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 27, 2015
It has been a long time since I've loathed a TV show as much as I loathed the series premiere of Happyish.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.9/10
April 27, 2015
There are some genuinely funny moments... but these tend to get lost amid the show's onslaught of acid.
April 27, 2015
There is a chance that Hoffman might have made this creaking, feeble material work.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
April 27, 2015
Too much of a vulgar thing turns out to be weak.
Full Review | Original Score: C
April 27, 2015
Writer Shalom Auslander, making his first foray into television with Happyish, presents a muddled script that feels stuffed to the brim with ideas about technology, aging, labor, capitalism, marriage, and a litany of other topics.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 26, 2015
If I've left the impression that Happyish isn't a laugh-fest, I've done my job. But the show is not without its pleasures.
April 26, 2015
The most frustrating part about Happyish is that there's a good show in there somewhere.
April 26, 2015
The problem with Happyish is that it never really finds the funny.
April 26, 2015
Its more absurdist moments are so bizarre, they're advanced.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 26, 2015
The half-hour Happyish premiering tonight proves there is such a thing as comedy too dark to qualify as tragicomedy or even dramedy. It ends up being merely a sad, pretentious piece of work, desperate to be taken seriously.
Page 1 of 2