Harper's Island: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 12, 2019
It's an entertaining enough diversion that may grow more intriguing as other series end their season-long runs next month and viewers become more desperate for fresh entertainment.
January 12, 2019
At its best, the CBS thriller was a throw-away summer diversion.
January 12, 2019
A rewatch will prove that clues were established from the first episode, but these are so organically constructed into the narrative that you'll never even notice the first time around.
January 12, 2019
It's like every horror film ever made - and it really doesn't skimp on the gore.
January 12, 2019
The whodunit set-up in its first showing is more than enough to keep viewers engaged to the end.
January 12, 2019
All of the by-the-numbers soap-opera plot points felt stale and uninteresting because they came across like treading water-listless character beats intended to string people along until the show became a locked-room horror chase.
June 26, 2018
Caught in a crossfire between licence-payers and rival media groups, the BBC has reached the frankly surreal conclusion that the answer is to cut down on imported programmes.
February 12, 2014
Sure, it may have skewed towards a typical slasher flick at some points towards the end, but it was entertaining and that is all you can really ask for in the end.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.8/10
February 12, 2014
I'm not the biggest slasher movie fan and don't like the formula. So I was pleasantly surprised that I got a kick out of the show.
February 12, 2014
I didn't think the Harper's Island pilot was good, but I thought it was fun.
February 12, 2014
HARPER'S ISLAND is the kind of show that a second-year film student might deliver.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 12, 2014
The problem with CBS' new horror-mystery-soap mash-up is that it's completely earnest in its awfulness
February 12, 2014
To prevent piracy, CBS imprinted each TV critic's name on his or her DVDs of Harper's Island. Seeing my name on screen throughout this lame series was the only thing that succeeded in sending shivers up my spine.
February 12, 2014
Unfortunately, clumsy writing gets in the way of potential insight
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
February 12, 2014
Playing mostly like a twentysomething soap - One Tree Hill if they killed a character or two each week - the episodes are too scattered initially to provoke much curiosity about whodunit.
February 12, 2014
Conceived as if it were an act of revenge against the entire destination-weddings industry, Harper's Island is a 13-episode mystery-thriller-psychodrama with CBS's dopey but shamefully watchable whodunit imprimatur all over it.
February 12, 2014
If you don't mind turning your brain off, and if you like murder mysteries that stray into slasher-flick territory, you may enjoy CBS' Harper's Island.
February 12, 2014
It's written like a dopey daytime soap, it basically makes no sense, but it sure is silly good fun - especially with lines like, "The last thing I need is a deer head in my bathroom." How true!
Top Critic
February 12, 2014
What a hoot. What a ridiculous, soap-operatic cutup of a series. But if you can stop giggling long enough, as I managed to - quite a feat, let me tell you - Harper's Island is also hugely enjoyable.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 31, 2014
It's tense enough, mysterious enough for those of us who enjoy occasionally watching the screen from behind our hands.
Page 1 of 2