Harper's Island: Season 1 Reviews

January 12, 2019
At its best, the CBS thriller was a throw-away summer diversion.
January 12, 2019
It's like every horror film ever made - and it really doesn't skimp on the gore.
January 12, 2019
All of the by-the-numbers soap-opera plot points felt stale and uninteresting because they came across like treading water-listless character beats intended to string people along until the show became a locked-room horror chase.
February 12, 2014
The problem with CBS' new horror-mystery-soap mash-up is that it's completely earnest in its awfulness
February 12, 2014
To prevent piracy, CBS imprinted each TV critic's name on his or her DVDs of Harper's Island. Seeing my name on screen throughout this lame series was the only thing that succeeded in sending shivers up my spine.
February 12, 2014
Playing mostly like a twentysomething soap - One Tree Hill if they killed a character or two each week - the episodes are too scattered initially to provoke much curiosity about whodunit.
February 12, 2014
Conceived as if it were an act of revenge against the entire destination-weddings industry, Harper's Island is a 13-episode mystery-thriller-psychodrama with CBS's dopey but shamefully watchable whodunit imprimatur all over it.
February 12, 2014
If you don't mind turning your brain off, and if you like murder mysteries that stray into slasher-flick territory, you may enjoy CBS' Harper's Island.
February 12, 2014
It's written like a dopey daytime soap, it basically makes no sense, but it sure is silly good fun - especially with lines like, "The last thing I need is a deer head in my bathroom." How true!
Top Critic
February 12, 2014
What a hoot. What a ridiculous, soap-operatic cutup of a series. But if you can stop giggling long enough, as I managed to - quite a feat, let me tell you - Harper's Island is also hugely enjoyable.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 31, 2014
It's tense enough, mysterious enough for those of us who enjoy occasionally watching the screen from behind our hands.
January 31, 2014
On Harper's Island, odds are you'll enjoy the executions more than the execution. By far spring's most interesting, if not best realized, TV experiment...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 31, 2014
Harper's Island is ghoulish and scary fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 31, 2014
The fact is, Harper's Island is a cunningly constructed, habit-forming mystery that makes for an intriguing departure from normal episodic television.
January 31, 2014
Based on tonight's premiere, all [the] subplots give Harper's Island enough dramatic heft to appeal to fans of classic murder mysteries as well as those who simply enjoy great showers of blood.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5