Hart of Dixie: Season 1 Reviews

October 17, 2018
Despite a very alluring cast, Hart of Dixie is just a little too cute for its own good.
October 17, 2018
From the deepest depths of my soul, I promise you that I have no idea who I want together on this show - I honestly like everyone - and that, my friends, is exhausting.
October 17, 2018
Parts of the show get a bit schmaltzy, and Hart's excessive voice-overs are a little too Grey's Anatomy, but overall, I think this could definitely earn a place on my Monday-night DVR.
October 16, 2018
I guess Hart Of Dixie was always going to be bad. The premise is just too hackneyed to really be salvageable.
October 16, 2018
Hart Of Dixie captures all of the superficial trappings of the small-town show, but it never captures the soul that made shows like Northern Exposure or Gilmore Girls work.
October 16, 2018
The show...is more about moving pieces around a set than telling a new or interesting story.
September 15, 2017
Homey charms aside, the Dixie tale is sillier than an electric banjo!
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 26, 2011
It's the South as seen by Hollywood writers who've never been there, or went there blindfolded.
Full Review | Original Score: F
September 26, 2011
Surprisingly, cast and crew succeed in making the sugary sweet illogic palatable, if not a gourmet delight.
September 26, 2011
It's an inviting first hour, with plenty of room to grow via a cast of solidly drawn central characters.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 26, 2011
So we've got a medical drama, a small-town soap opera, a romantic comedy with two attractive and capable leads, plus bits and pieces of all those Reese Witherspoon movies. There just might be enough here to fly.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 26, 2011
Rachel Bilson (The OC) plays a would-be cardiothoracic surgeon. Yeah, I know, right?
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 26, 2011
The show is cozy, predictable, comfortable and, like a good ole' huntin' dog, not in need of serious housebreaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 26, 2011
This overdone fish-out-of-water story is surprisingly touching and may appeal to the CW's young female audience.
September 26, 2011
This CW show is so silly and lightweight it might possess unexpected appeal for its sheer camp factor.
September 26, 2011
The smart way to go would be to turn this mess into a savvy comedy, but that may be asking too much.
September 26, 2011
A convincing performance may be beyond her, but she could start by finding a way to say "Doctor Zoe Hart" as if it doesn't surprise her as much as it does us.
September 26, 2011
A silly, youth-oriented CW drama packaged as a fish-out-of-water yarn.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 26, 2011
What demotes it from a C to a D is some of the laziest plot setups ever, as well as the dumbing down of Friday Night Lights alums Porter and Cress Williams.
Full Review | Original Score: D