Homeland: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 24, 2020
Homeland fills the void on television for good spy drama that's been empty since the early days of Alias.
August 17, 2018
Clearly, the greatest thing on TV right now is... Homeland...
July 20, 2018
The amount of information packed into this pilot episode, which still managed to sustain an urgent dramatic pace while creating a shivery sense of foreboding, is a testament to the quality of the writing and performances...
July 2, 2018
With impressive talent on both sides of the camera, Homeland succeeds as both a compelling thriller and an engaging character drama.
May 21, 2018
This is a compellingly tragic end-stop in the life of a shrewdly plotted, breathlessly entertaining and occasionally remarkable series.
April 20, 2018
It is here that the thriller reveals within its awesome illogic a second, truer story: that of a talented, intelligent woman with bipolar disorder making her way in a world that doesn't much want her.
October 25, 2011
Above all Homeland arouses our suspicions-if the show had a sub-title, it would be "Insecurity," not "Security."
October 2, 2011
An intense, subtly written cat-and-mouse game.
October 2, 2011
Showtime's edgy, edge-of-your-seat series, is, bar none, the best thriller on American TV.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 2, 2011
There are a couple of bush-league moments in the show...those are minor quibbles, made even more insignificant by the extraordinary performances of Danes, Lewis, Patinkin and Baccarin.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 2, 2011
A bracing, well-paced series that stands out as the season's best new drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 2, 2011
An addictive espionage thriller and a compelling character study. Without a doubt, it is one of the finest new shows of the year.
October 2, 2011
Homeland is not just the best new drama of the season, it's the first telling of a post-9/11 story that is all the things it should be: politically resonant, emotionally wrenching and plain old thrilling to watch.
October 2, 2011
Showtime lets them [the producers] take their time to spin serpentine story lines, gradually pulling us deep into one very sticky, scary web of intrigue.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 2, 2011
It's compelling, enthralling and steeped in current realities.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 2, 2011
Shows like Homeland have a way of keeping us deliciously off balance.
October 2, 2011
Am I hooked? Big time. Of all the drama pilots I watched, this was my favorite.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 2, 2011
Right now, what I see in front of me is so clearly fascinating that, like Carrie Mathison, I'm going to dive into the deep end and worry about consequences much, much later.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 2, 2011
I'm hooked.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 2, 2011
Homeland is 24 for grown-ups.
Page 1 of 2