Homeland: Season 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 22, 2018
The show had taken on the characteristics of the jazz filtering through the opening credits and Carrie's workout ear buds. It was loud and improvisational. More importantly, it had given Carrie back the attractive quality of competence.
July 24, 2018
It suffers too much from echoes of stuff you've seen before, from Secret State to Edge of Darkness, while the fancy on-screen overlays of computer data are too brazenly post-Sherlock for comfort.
March 11, 2015
Homeland is no longer the irrelevance it threatened to become. It ended well.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 3, 2015
Homeland may never have the zeitgeist it once had, but it certainly has regained its footing with an exciting spy thriller.
December 9, 2014
After a number of consecutively excellent episodes, we're prepared to say it: Those of you gave up on Homeland last season should come back into the fold
December 8, 2014
The show has returned to its roots as an espionage thriller, in part by taking an unsentimental view of its heroine's worst behavior.
October 21, 2014
It was fair to expect that "reset" might mean returning to the show's spy thriller roots, instead of giving us a literal reset in the manner of The Hangover 2, which had the exact same plot as The Hangover, only with a new locale.
October 20, 2014
The atmosphere was decidedly flat, as if no one, least of all the scriptwriters, was quite sure what to do next.
October 14, 2014
Homeland without Damian Lewis. It's an intriguing premise and one we'll have the chance to explore in the fourth series of this once-great, long-since diminished drama series.
October 13, 2014
If in seasons two and three Homeland occasionally lost direction and momentum, it's back with renewed purpose. And a bang.
October 8, 2014
Now that Homeland faces the make-or-break point, it finally has the chance to get back on track with a few daring dramatic moves - and it needs them.
October 6, 2014
This is the new joint and it rivals The Strain for my favorite thing to watch right now.
October 6, 2014
The foreign setting (with South Africa subbing as the middle East) and the addition of a couple of key cast members make for what seems a promising season of cat and mouse.
Top Critic
October 6, 2014
My hope is that we'll eventually get a more nuanced tale of what this unending war is doing to all of us in the homeland from Homeland, rather than a spy thriller garnished with predictable lessons about meddling in the Middle East.
October 6, 2014
All in all, a highly engaging and entertaining episode, which managed to be timely (the drone issues) and fulfilling, which wasn't exactly a given in light of Brody's absence.
October 6, 2014
The show has reset and is now prepared to move forward. And how refreshing it is.
October 6, 2014
It redirects its focus away from prep schools and bedrooms (bye bye, Dana and Jessica Brody) and back onto the pitfalls and immoralities consistent with fighting something as unscrupulous as the war on terror.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 6, 2014
I can unequivocally say the producers have found new life. And am I glad to have this critique of America's war on terror still available to millions of American viewers every week.
October 6, 2014
As we're re-introduced to our characters in their new location in Homeland Season 4 Episode 1, it feels very timely, indeed. Carrie's team has coined her the Drone Queen. It's just like being there.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/5
October 6, 2014
We saw, first, Homeland rebooting itself, focusing on its strengths and moving past its craziness and mistakes. But then we saw the show fall right back into its over-the-top habits, finding brand-new mistakes to make.
Page 1 of 3