Homeland: Season 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 9, 2014
After a number of consecutively excellent episodes, we're prepared to say it: Those of you gave up on Homeland last season should come back into the fold
December 8, 2014
The show has returned to its roots as an espionage thriller, in part by taking an unsentimental view of its heroine's worst behavior.
October 21, 2014
It was fair to expect that "reset" might mean returning to the show's spy thriller roots, instead of giving us a literal reset in the manner of The Hangover 2, which had the exact same plot as The Hangover, only with a new locale.
October 13, 2014
If in seasons two and three Homeland occasionally lost direction and momentum, it's back with renewed purpose. And a bang.
October 8, 2014
Now that Homeland faces the make-or-break point, it finally has the chance to get back on track with a few daring dramatic moves - and it needs them.
October 6, 2014
This is the new joint and it rivals The Strain for my favorite thing to watch right now.
Top Critic
October 6, 2014
My hope is that we'll eventually get a more nuanced tale of what this unending war is doing to all of us in the homeland from Homeland, rather than a spy thriller garnished with predictable lessons about meddling in the Middle East.
October 6, 2014
The show has reset and is now prepared to move forward. And how refreshing it is.
October 6, 2014
We saw, first, Homeland rebooting itself, focusing on its strengths and moving past its craziness and mistakes. But then we saw the show fall right back into its over-the-top habits, finding brand-new mistakes to make.
October 6, 2014
Stiff, reactionary and downright unsexy, Danes' Mathison is unworthy of her character's cool-girl halo. She feels more like a confused Ph.D. student than a CIA badass.
October 3, 2014
Homeland feels more like the show it used to be: edgy, dour and violent in a way that can claim some quasi-relevance to international headlines.
October 3, 2014
Early episodes are strong, if not as shattering as the inaugural season.
October 3, 2014
[Claire] Danes' Carrie is steelier than ever, her heart hardened to near-concrete while going about the exhilarating business of eliminating terrorists no matter what the collateral damage.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 3, 2014
It's good again. Not great, but good: smarter than you expect, more patient with its storytelling, less interested in the characters' plotting and counter-plotting than in their often miserable inner lives.
October 3, 2014
If the season turns out to be primarily a complex Middle East thriller, that could still be entertaining. Homeland has just set us up to want more.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 3, 2014
It's clear that Homeland, this many years in, is just like Saul: It still has things to say, and ideas to explore, even if they're not always comfortable to absorb.
October 3, 2014
By episode 3, Homeland starts connecting. A murder mystery becomes intriguing, key franchise assets are plugged directly into the main narrative, and a new agent provides a welcome spark.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 3, 2014
Here's hoping the drama can avoid the credibility problems of past seasons while launching a taut and topical new story.
October 3, 2014
Indeed, Homeland has found a smart and natural way out of the hole it dug for itself. By the time I finished the third episode sent for review, I felt a flush of forgiveness and a willingness to get back on the train.
October 3, 2014
There's not a lot likely to dim the attractions of this Homeland with its energized spirit -- not to mention the implacable Carrie, capable of mounting a war on terror all her own.
Page 1 of 2