Homeland: Season 8 Reviews

May 4, 2020
This may be the end, but only a brave man would bet against her return.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 27, 2020
It was a sharp opening episode... It's great to see such a complex character on television. If only we knew whether to trust her.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 27, 2020
It's been a swansong befitting of a character who'll be missed -- a character who, until her final hour, has been one of television's all-time greats.
April 27, 2020
Taking plenty of dramatic license, Homeland has always put a spotlight on how the decisions, the feints and the gut calls made by nameless operatives in the field can avert disaster and change the course of history.
March 18, 2020
Placing a question mark above Carrie's time in captivity is just one of the hooks that the producers have deployed to drive the last burst of this impressive espionage drama.
February 18, 2020
Homeland is a serviceable spy thriller with some superior turns. But if this had been the debut season, we would not have had eight of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 18, 2020
Medically speaking, it's probably inadvisable to treat bipolarity as a superpower. But that's where we are.
February 18, 2020
Rven though the circumstances are new... it still felt like déjà vu. We have had this vibe, this dynamic before - many times.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 10, 2020
Fine, sharp opener to what already feels like a tragic climax.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 10, 2020
[Returns] Homeland to a share of its former glory -- in the view of someone who pulled away a few years ago; others never abandoned it -- by bringing the show's theme full circle to where it began.
February 10, 2020
Freeing itself of its original narrative moorings has done it nothing but good. It's also a testament to the thoughtfulness and intelligence of showrunners Howard Gordon and Alex Gansa that it has stayed so on the ball.
February 7, 2020
My favorite part of the new season, honestly, might have been reflecting on how, after this lengthy Homeland journey, the character who has gravitated up the call sheet by virtue of sheer survival has been Maury Sterling's Max.
February 7, 2020
The finish wasn't entirely convincing, and while it provided a degree of closure, didn't loop back to the show's origins as deftly as one might have hoped.
February 6, 2020
The first three episodes are a bit clunky, with Carrie's familiar pattern of alienating nearly everyone she meets kicking in again - and then Episode 4 comes along and "Homeland" finds its groove.
February 6, 2020
The first four episodes of the season have their wild plot lurches but also the gimlet eye for human nature of "Homeland" at its best.
February 6, 2020
Overall the first four episodes made available for review plod along... But then, just as I'm about to write off this final season, something happens at the end of the fourth episode that pulls me right back in. Just like Carrie, I can't seem to let go.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.8/10
February 4, 2020
Lesli Linka Glatter returns for the first two episodes... and, for as much credit as she rightly gets for her beautifully staged and tensely cut action sequences, the performances she evokes in a still or slightly shifting frame are incredible.
Full Review | Original Score: B+