House of Cards: Season 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

House of Cards: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
July 29, 2018
House of cards, of which all the opinions I had heard coincided in their exceptionality, fascinates me moderately. [Full Review in Spanish]
January 12, 2018
The series forgot its identity and became a marital melodrama... [Full review in Spanish]
February 18, 2014
The new season of House of Cards falters in many of the very places where the first season excelled.
February 10, 2014
if House of Cards, which already has been approved for a third season, wants to retain its punch, it's time for someone to take Frank down a notch.
February 12, 2014
By the time I finished watching the second season, most of it within the space of a few days, I had come to the conclusion that it's simply a bad show with the pretensions of a good one - a USA show that's bad because it thinks it's an HBO show.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
February 14, 2014
With [the] plot turn the show devolved into a melodramatic soap opera... nothing wrong with that; it's just not as respectable as a realistic soap opera.
February 14, 2014
Without Russo, the mercilessness of the show's moral universe can be numbing. "Appeal to the heart, not the brain." It's advice that House of Cards itself might, at times, be wise to take.
November 17, 2015
Frank turns to walk away. When Zoe follows, Frank turns back and pushes her directly into the path of an oncoming train. This guy sure doesn't mess around, does he?
September 22, 2017
... it's Robin Wright's Claire Underwood who propels the show through its second season...
February 20, 2014
Just how much more amazing can this show get?
February 16, 2014
If you loved the first season of House of Cards, you'll likely love the second.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 27, 2014
House of Cards isn't meant to be dissected. It's meant to be binged on. And it's a temptation to which I'm not immune.
February 16, 2014
House of Cards doubles down in its second season, providing a visual and dramatic gleefulness in sinister tones. It once again earns its addictiveness.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
August 28, 2017
I really enjoyed the season, but there's a hollowness to the show that comes of its borrowing a form but refusing some of that form's basic terms, thinking that makes it fancier.
November 17, 2015
The Underwoods are upping their game for season two because the stakes are higher.
February 19, 2014
House of Cards doesn't simply plod along like Frank and Claire's leisurely jog connecting the seasons; it jumps right off a narrative cliff without checking to see what's below.
February 21, 2014
Season two does a better job of embracing the absurdity of its dark universe, where only characters with no moral compass can ever come out on top. It is our collective paranoid concept of Washington politics, in all of its depraved glory.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
February 13, 2014
The show's writing, breathless pacing and even its clever use of graphics (visually superimposing phone text messages onto particular scenes) stands head-and-shoulders above most of its TV brethren.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 18, 2014
The weather in Washington, D.C. continues to be permanently overcast in season two of House of Cards.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 19, 2014
In almost every way, season two of House Of Cards is an improvement on season one.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 3