How I Met Your Mother: Season 9 Reviews

March 27, 2018
"Last Forever" brought up the idea of true love versus soul mates, and a bit about fate, but if I wanted to watch a series about how your soulmate might not be the love of your life, I'd have watched Dawson's Creek, a series which did it much better.
March 27, 2018
Lest you think How I Met Your Mother was going to skip over the good parts of Ted and The Mother's relationship, Monday night's episode delivered another milestone in their romance.
March 27, 2018
This finale seems to completely sour the show's legacy - something that is not more important than ever.
March 27, 2018
All told, the finale, like the series itself, was fine, if not, alas, legendary. But hey, unlike some of the shows that have come and gone while Ted searched for his dream girl, it certainly beat a slap to the face.
March 27, 2018
For some, [the] surprise was a disappointment. But disappointment is expecting that a life has only one love story, that happily ever after only happens once, that surprises, good and bad, happen along the way.
March 27, 2018
Fortunately for HIMYM, the time-turning precedent for the season only strengthens such a radical episode's premise.
March 27, 2018
This isn't a perfect ending... But a straightforward, fairytale ending for Ted and Tracy wouldn't have served viewers, and it would have been beyond boring.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 27, 2018
'Last Forever' was actually a really great finale episode overall.
March 27, 2018
I wish I was as thrilled by the ending as the beginning, but I'm grateful that so many episodes stand up to multiple, multiple viewings.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 27, 2018
The result of [the writers'] plan was among the more maddening things I've seen in the finale of a show I at one point loved.
April 3, 2014
In spite of a couple of lovely moments, the "HIMYM" finale was a terrible miscalculation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 2, 2014
The ultimate takeaway from the final season is that series creators Carter Bays and Craig Thomas were at once too good and not good enough to tell the story they ultimately wanted to tell.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 29, 2014
Here's to hoping the final eight episodes will continue to make [the Mother] invaluable to the show's story. After all, she's the reason How I Met Your Mother is great again.
November 6, 2013
Monday night's "The Lighthouse" was a real beacon of hope for fans... because for the first time since the pilot, we saw The Mother and Ted together. And what's more, this shared moment was a super special one.
October 1, 2013
Nothing was over-the-top funny, but it was a perfect combination of laughter and sweet moments that really do make up for all of the lackluster episodes in the past few seasons.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.1/10
September 26, 2013
I loved the way the two future friends met. Ted's wife definitely would be someone who would ask if a fellow passenger was okay after seeing her distraught. I also liked how she tried to lighten the mood by joking about the cookies.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 25, 2013
Move over Zooey Deschanel, there's a new adorkable girl in town and her name is... well, we actually don't know her name just yet, but for the sake of avoiding confusion, we'll just call her the "Mother".
Full Review | Original Score: 7.8/10
September 24, 2013
I'm hoping for some good character moments, some fun glimpses into the past and future, and a sense of the sweetness and humanity that the show had mostly lost in its later years. On that level, "The Locket" and "Coming Back" was an encouraging start.
September 24, 2013
Me? I'm confident. I'm a total story-structure geek, and that's one of the reasons I love this show.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 23, 2013
It's to early to say if the rest of the season 9 episodes will be as good, but it's always great when a show can start off strong.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10