HUMANS: Season 1 Reviews

Page 2 of 3
June 30, 2015
Robots and humans connect in chilling sci-fi drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 29, 2015
The cleverly conceived Humans subtly speculates on where mankind might be going within an absorbing thriller-mystery.
June 29, 2015
The cast is strong, there's no weak link dragging down the acting talent. And, most importantly, despite its slightly worn concept, the idea still feels intriguing.
June 29, 2015
It's already asking the right questions, like, "Is it okay to have sex with a robot?," features plenty of good performances, and has a clean fresh-out-of-the-box look at technology.
June 29, 2015
It's all pretty gripping stuff -- a bit creepy, a bit spooky and rather smart, and as its storylines begin to overlap, Humans becomes an addictive drama that no intelligent viewer -- real or synthetic -- will want to miss.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 29, 2015
What stays with us about Humans, though, are the reminders of all the little ways things will change once we hand part of our lives over to robots.
June 29, 2015
Like most good sci-fi, Humans makes sure that the philosophizing doesn't get in the way of the suspense and chills. Anyone who doesn't enjoy those might be a Synth.
June 29, 2015
There was much good human acting and creepy robot acting. It was great fun seeing grand old ham William Hurt as a solitary codger desperate not to surrender the unreliable robot that stored all his fading memories.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 29, 2015
A slick sci-fi series whose slickness enhances the point it wants to make, Humans is a clever piece of work.
June 29, 2015
Humans is off to a good start, though I worry that it's rushing into the A.I. territory at the expense of some of the excellent subtleties featured in the other stories. Still, I guess the feeling is with only eight episodes there's no time to waste.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.6/10
June 29, 2015
What is uncommonly special about Humans is the depth of the character development with humans and robots.
June 29, 2015
Humans... goes straight-up robots and offers a surprisingly nuanced look at the old worry that artificial intelligence will eventually outstrip human consciousness.
June 29, 2015
Like the best science fiction, Humans holds a mirror to our foibles, to our technology, how we use it and how it changes us. You'll be staring back for a long time.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
June 29, 2015
Pretty much any time an Other is treated as less than human in science-fiction, we're primed to root for the Other and to pat ourselves on the back for our empathy. What Humans does better than anything I can think of is present the other side.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 29, 2015
You'll know the basic beats the plot is going to hit, but there's a certain pleasure to watching a formula play out, and Humans contains some interesting twists here and there.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 29, 2015
While there is certainly room to grow and some of the ideas are roughly sketched, its science fiction and drama has enough intrigue to keep me interested.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
June 26, 2015
The show is most entertainingly creepy when it hints at the potential dangers posed by sentient synths, thanks in large part to the expressions - vacant and otherwise - of the actors playing the robots.
June 26, 2015
A charming, exciting, and impeccably written sci-fi drama for grown-up.
June 26, 2015
[The robots are] all unpaid. They are, in fact, slave labor. And it's that... that makes Humans intriguing.
June 26, 2015
The best plotline in the show... might be the one involving George Millican, an aging scientist beautifully played by William Hurt.
Page 2 of 3