I Am the Night: Miniseries - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am the Night: Miniseries Reviews

Page 1 of 3
February 14, 2019
Pine gets lots to chew on while the makeup department is taxed to keep up with his various cuts and bruises. In that respect he's served a full plate. Too bad that too much of this is either overcooked or under-prepared.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
February 14, 2019
So far, I Am the Night has failed to adequately represent the perspectives of the women it's supposedly about. The result is something that's way more boring than it should be.
February 13, 2019
Intriguing but melodramatic real-life mystery lacks nuance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 11, 2019
Pine is that rare truly handsome actor who can not only act but whose comedic timing is delicious.
February 8, 2019
Even when the series is flawed, as with "I Am the Night," it's a treat to see a star like Pine stretch his acting muscles.
February 8, 2019
There's a fearful intelligence and stubborn innocence in Eisley's portrayal of the Fauna.
February 8, 2019
It's a tale full of intrigue, scandal, and murder, presented with a middlebrow prestige-sleaze gloss that should really hit the spot for Twin Peaks fans who felt the third season could have used less metaphysics and more cherry pie.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 8, 2019
I Am the Night is a low-rent Chinatown-like series that's gratuitously old-hat, but pretty watchable despite a tortured self-awareness of its own decrepitude.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 5, 2019
I Am the Night becomes more interested in painting a pulpy hell for its characters to navigate than offering a clean beginning-to-end caper.
February 2, 2019
Based on a novel, written by FaunaHodel,I AM THE NIGHT,helmed by Patty Jenkins, is riveting, bone-chilling and heart-stopping. My eyes were glued to the screen with a knot in my stomach for the entire 6-part limited series
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
January 31, 2019
Although it's a slow-burn for the first few episodes, the dramatic flare and mystery really pull the audience in, and will have them invested in just what will happen next.
January 31, 2019
In some ways, I Am the Night is too much - and not enough - of a good thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 31, 2019
TNT's new limited series drips with much atmosphere and dread, creating a stylish experience while offering an original take on a legendary murder.
January 30, 2019
Too grandiose to condense into a film, I Am the Night gives time to introduce its characters and pique the audience's interest.
January 30, 2019
Despite the absence of a badge, Singletary might be the truest detective on television. There's a refreshing honesty to his trashiness.
January 29, 2019
[It] isn't nearly as spooky or absorbing as it thinks it is.
January 29, 2019
Such hurdles aside, I Am the Night is a mostly enjoyable, if boilerplate, riff on the midcentury Los Angeles mystery. As someone who could happily toggle between The Long Goodbye and Inherent Vice for the rest of my viewing life, that's hardly criticism.
January 29, 2019
That there's any emotional heft can be largely credited to Pine, pushing a bloody boulder up a neon-lit hill. But in the end, it's all as empty as the hollow paintings of a soulless man.
January 29, 2019
Chris Pine's Jay Singletary is a fascinating role for him, one full of anger and frustration, a loose cannon mentality which serves him the opportunity to play a character with little regard for the blowback.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 29, 2019
Although it boasts a great turn from Pine, one that suggests he do more roles of this type (on television or otherwise), I Am the Night is ultimately a disappointingly dull noir.
Page 1 of 3