I Am the Night: Miniseries - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am the Night: Miniseries Reviews

Page 1 of 3
February 13, 2019
Intriguing but melodramatic real-life mystery lacks nuance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 11, 2019
Pine is that rare truly handsome actor who can not only act but whose comedic timing is delicious.
February 8, 2019
Even when the series is flawed, as with "I Am the Night," it's a treat to see a star like Pine stretch his acting muscles.
February 8, 2019
There's a fearful intelligence and stubborn innocence in Eisley's portrayal of the Fauna.
February 8, 2019
It's a tale full of intrigue, scandal, and murder, presented with a middlebrow prestige-sleaze gloss that should really hit the spot for Twin Peaks fans who felt the third season could have used less metaphysics and more cherry pie.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 8, 2019
I Am the Night is a low-rent Chinatown-like series that's gratuitously old-hat, but pretty watchable despite a tortured self-awareness of its own decrepitude.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 5, 2019
I Am the Night becomes more interested in painting a pulpy hell for its characters to navigate than offering a clean beginning-to-end caper.
February 2, 2019
Based on a novel, written by FaunaHodel,I AM THE NIGHT,helmed by Patty Jenkins, is riveting, bone-chilling and heart-stopping. My eyes were glued to the screen with a knot in my stomach for the entire 6-part limited series
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
January 31, 2019
Although it's a slow-burn for the first few episodes, the dramatic flare and mystery really pull the audience in, and will have them invested in just what will happen next.
January 31, 2019
In some ways, I Am the Night is too much - and not enough - of a good thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 31, 2019
TNT's new limited series drips with much atmosphere and dread, creating a stylish experience while offering an original take on a legendary murder.
January 30, 2019
Too grandiose to condense into a film, I Am the Night gives time to introduce its characters and pique the audience's interest.
January 30, 2019
Despite the absence of a badge, Singletary might be the truest detective on television. There's a refreshing honesty to his trashiness.
January 29, 2019
Such hurdles aside, I Am the Night is a mostly enjoyable, if boilerplate, riff on the midcentury Los Angeles mystery. As someone who could happily toggle between The Long Goodbye and Inherent Vice for the rest of my viewing life, that's hardly criticism.
January 29, 2019
Chris Pine's Jay Singletary is a fascinating role for him, one full of anger and frustration, a loose cannon mentality which serves him the opportunity to play a character with little regard for the blowback.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 28, 2019
The series only scratches the surface to the Hollywood tale of the Hodel family and the Black Dahlia case. It has the outward appearance of crime noir, but is more of a melodrama.
January 28, 2019
It succeeds in elevating the best in the talent resurrecting a piece of it, proving that with enough time, even the gruesome displays of humanity can be rendered into ethereal distractions.
January 28, 2019
The performances in I Am The Night make the miniseries worth watching, even if the storytelling hasn't quite gelled yet by the end of the pilot.
January 28, 2019
Fans of L.A. noir may feel underserved by "I Am the Night," yet they can spend a few episodes at least enjoying the vibe and the view. As with all L.A. stories, the view counts for something.
January 28, 2019
It's a performance that's impossible to look away from, and promises more to Pine than charisma and romantic lead roles.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 3