I Am the Night: Miniseries - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am the Night: Miniseries Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 23, 2019
Even with Chris Pine's explosive performance as Jay Singleton, I Am the Night has about as much fervor as a Puritan funeral.
Full Review | Original Score: D
February 14, 2019
So far, I Am the Night has failed to adequately represent the perspectives of the women it's supposedly about. The result is something that's way more boring than it should be.
January 29, 2019
[It] isn't nearly as spooky or absorbing as it thinks it is.
January 28, 2019
It frustrates me to say this, because I admire Patty Jenkins and because Chris Pine and the rest of the cast does a bang-up job on the performance front. But I Am the Night fails my personal acid test.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
January 29, 2019
That there's any emotional heft can be largely credited to Pine, pushing a bloody boulder up a neon-lit hill. But in the end, it's all as empty as the hollow paintings of a soulless man.
January 25, 2019
If only the writing played to these strengths. True story or not, I Am the Night too often resembles an oversimplified version of the 1974 classic Chinatown...
January 29, 2019
Although it boasts a great turn from Pine, one that suggests he do more roles of this type (on television or otherwise), I Am the Night is ultimately a disappointingly dull noir.
January 25, 2019
It boasts a terrific lead performance from Chris Pine, but the story's much too slow to get going and doesn't deliver enough payoff to merit the wait.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 24, 2019
It's the slow-as-molasses pace that renders "Night" a disappointment. Sure, it takes time to build characters, but "Night" feels super sluggish.
January 27, 2019
Eventually delivers mostly dissatisfying results, for both its fictional characters and their real-life inspirations.
January 28, 2019
Inventions don't equal inventiveness, though, and everything about the Los Angeles mystery story feels reheated.
January 28, 2019
I Am the Night" is merely the latest drama devoted to the Dahlia case that, like the LAPD's original investigation, has failed to produce a satisfying outcome.
February 14, 2019
Pine gets lots to chew on while the makeup department is taxed to keep up with his various cuts and bruises. In that respect he's served a full plate. Too bad that too much of this is either overcooked or under-prepared.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 15, 2019
After watching five of its six hours, I can't tell you whose storyI Am the Nightthinks it is, nor the mystery it thinks it's unfolding.
January 29, 2019
Chris Pine's Jay Singletary is a fascinating role for him, one full of anger and frustration, a loose cannon mentality which serves him the opportunity to play a character with little regard for the blowback.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 25, 2019
Although the Black Dahlia case is still cold, there's no denying that the family connections that I Am the Night has been loosely based on are fascinating, yet creepy as hell.
February 2, 2019
Based on a novel, written by FaunaHodel,I AM THE NIGHT,helmed by Patty Jenkins, is riveting, bone-chilling and heart-stopping. My eyes were glued to the screen with a knot in my stomach for the entire 6-part limited series
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
January 28, 2019
The series only scratches the surface to the Hollywood tale of the Hodel family and the Black Dahlia case. It has the outward appearance of crime noir, but is more of a melodrama.
January 28, 2019
Not only does I Am the Night showcase powerful performances from Pine and Eisley, it also shines a light on a troubling moment in our own history, but in a sleight-of-hand fashion as focuses on one of the most famous unsolved murders in Hollywood history.
January 31, 2019
TNT's new limited series drips with much atmosphere and dread, creating a stylish experience while offering an original take on a legendary murder.
Page 1 of 3