I Hate Suzie: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 20, 2020
Each episode works as a thoughtful, even bracing exploration of its stated theme, but at no point do the proceedings become orderly.
November 20, 2020
If you only know Piper from her stint on Doctor Who-which she was great on, don't get me wrong-prepare to be amazed.
November 20, 2020
You might squirm, but will never hate the excellent Piper, as Suzie careens from self-pity to self-disgust in a surreal blur of debauched despair.
November 20, 2020
For a show that revolves around one character desperately trying to move forward, "I Hate Suzie" is smart about how it includes the past.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 20, 2020
An effective exercise in seeing a person's life fall apart around them in short order.
November 19, 2020
Above all, I Hate Suzie is a masterclass in tone-yanking the viewer this way and that, but never quite dropping us into either the depths of despair or the indignity of laughing off the entire incident.
November 18, 2020
Piper is fearless, as is the first episode.
November 18, 2020
The dialogue is snappy and sharp, and the tone switches are great: Shock electrically captures the frozen horror, mad panic and chaotic black comedy.
November 18, 2020
What does feel provocative and interesting... is the spectacle of a female character engaging in dissolute and depraved behaviour for which - thus far - she seems distinctly disinclined to atone.
November 18, 2020
I Hate Suzie is stylistically fluid, matching the mood of Suzie's quasi-Kübler-Ross stages with corresponding visual flourishes.
Full Review | Original Score: A
September 22, 2020
It's quirky, frequently funny and reminds us of just how talented an actor Piper really is.
September 11, 2020
I Hate Suzie is scathingly, blackly funny as well as unexpectedly moving, as much an emotional ride for the viewer as it is for Suzie.
September 1, 2020
Billie is one of the finest actors - when you see her on screen you never think about the actor, just the character she's playing. You completely believe who she is in this.
August 31, 2020
Piper acts this to perfection... [But] it's as if we're on a theme-park ride that won't stop or slow down, if only for a minute so that you and, more importantly, the characters, can pause, take a breather and assess what's what.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 28, 2020
This one is excellently funny, but also sharply incisive, taking perfect aim at celebrity culture and the media establishment.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 28, 2020
I Hate Suzie is a bruised, bold and ultimately brilliant piece of television, it starts with an extended nervous breakdown and never lets up from there.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 28, 2020
A delight. Even the frustration is delightfully frustrating. It's tightly-written, funny, and brilliantly well-acted.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 28, 2020
I Hate Suzie is uniformly well-acted, sharply written and, above all, is ruthlessly accurate about fame in all its anxiety, mundanity and insincerity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 28, 2020
A truly astonishing performance from Piper embedded in six of the most exhilarating, scabrously funny half-hours of comedy drama the channel has yet produced.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 28, 2020
I Hate Suzie explodes with energy and ideas. Co-created by playwright and Succession's Lucy Prebble with Billie Piper, it's an electrifying series that's constantly shedding its skin to become something new.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 2