I Hate Suzie: Season 1 Reviews

November 20, 2020
Each episode works as a thoughtful, even bracing exploration of its stated theme, but at no point do the proceedings become orderly.
November 20, 2020
For a show that revolves around one character desperately trying to move forward, "I Hate Suzie" is smart about how it includes the past.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 18, 2020
I Hate Suzie is stylistically fluid, matching the mood of Suzie's quasi-Kübler-Ross stages with corresponding visual flourishes.
Full Review | Original Score: A
September 11, 2020
I Hate Suzie is scathingly, blackly funny as well as unexpectedly moving, as much an emotional ride for the viewer as it is for Suzie.
September 1, 2020
Billie is one of the finest actors - when you see her on screen you never think about the actor, just the character she's playing. You completely believe who she is in this.
August 28, 2020
I Hate Suzie is uniformly well-acted, sharply written and, above all, is ruthlessly accurate about fame in all its anxiety, mundanity and insincerity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 28, 2020
A truly astonishing performance from Piper embedded in six of the most exhilarating, scabrously funny half-hours of comedy drama the channel has yet produced.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 28, 2020
This was bold and intelligently acted television. And surely an instant cure for any fool who actively wants to be "a celebrity."
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 28, 2020
Piper has a rare gift for eliciting sympathy, even as Pickles keeps making new mistakes in her effort to disguise the old ones.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 28, 2020
I Hate Suzie feels fresh and pacy with plenty of dry wit. My only objection is, why would you hate someone called Suzie?
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 28, 2020
I like the fact that it feels authentic even when it's at its most manic. Above all, I like the fact that it's absolutely bulging with people who, though basically decent and likable, are also behaving very stupidly and, sometimes, incredibly badly.