I May Destroy You: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
July 2, 2020
...at its best this show is abrasively psychological; it is, as all good art can be, "triggering," because it sounds and feels and moves the way we do.
July 2, 2020
Four episodes into the season and it's one of the most powerful depictions of sexual assault I've ever seen.
June 29, 2020
The latest series from Michaela Coel captures the contradictions of trying to make art in an age of corporate dominance.
June 29, 2020
Coel's series is urgent and timely and is perfectly filtered through the hyperfocus of the performative millennial gaze. It is tough to watch, but also funny and touching and beautiful.
June 26, 2020
The series is a tour de force by British actress Michaela Coel.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 22, 2020
I May Destroy You, though, is fantastic, in ways that both do and do not have anything to do with its multivalent treatment of rape and trauma.
June 17, 2020
For all its troubling view of sexual consent, Coel's storytelling has a confidence and wit that makes it fly along.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 17, 2020
At its considerable heart, "I May Destroy You" tells a striking story of transformation.
June 16, 2020
A vital story -- and also somewhat anarchic and scattered -- about how to live with freedom even with the existence of predators. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 15, 2020
It's testimony to the sheer talent of Coel that this is wild and different and interesting. You could watch her doing almost anything, for a start, with her shock of silver-pink hair and that elastic heart-shaped face.
June 15, 2020
Hard as this material may be, "I May Destroy You" won't destroy viewers. The series is also whimsical and charming, reflecting the personality of its star, a survivor with a tale to tell.
June 15, 2020
Coel has tackled so many subjects around which our generalised prejudices congregate... via the blitherings of mindfulness, the joys of sex and the horrors of sudden distrust, and done it with wit and several nods to the power of friendship.
June 15, 2020
It is, in short, an extraordinary, breathtaking achievement without a false note in it, shot through with humour and with ideas, talent and character to burn at every perfectly plotted turn.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 12, 2020
What makes it work is the writing, the seamless way we are dropped into Arabella's world, and friend dynamics.
June 10, 2020
Lane and Robbins, as the often feuding couple, succeed in making you care for their characters, even as they're shown making one poor decision after another.
June 10, 2020
I May Destroy You is often exhilarating. Its particular freshness makes me feel, sometimes, as I did about Queer As Folk when it came out (more than 20 years ago now).
June 10, 2020
Riveting.
June 10, 2020
To characterise the show as a one-issue piece, however, would be an injustice: it makes sure to present its characters and their lives three-dimensionally.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 9, 2020
It could have used an editor's pencil, but as we'll see, uncompromisingly, what Coel has to say is important.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 9, 2020
No TV show has ever shown the complexities of sexual assault and how it affects survivors, their friends and their communities quite like this difficult, harrowing and hilarious drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 3