Killing Eve: Season 2 Reviews

May 29, 2019
Helmed by new showrunner Emerald Fennell, Killing Eve's second season trades in the precise mordant wit of series creator Phoebe Waller-Bridge for something more garish and horrifying.
April 29, 2019
Maybe Killing Eve is different because it's funnier. Maybe it's because it's made by women-or because murderous rage seems, right now, like a relevant basis for female bonding.
April 9, 2019
If Eve is our frayed tether to reality, Villanelle embodies the entitled, otherworldly glamour of both being in her line of work and taking pride in it.
April 8, 2019
New spin for a new season, but the black heart of "Killing Eve" remains intact.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 5, 2019
Killing Eve" deftly continues the cat-and-mouse game that made this BBC America series one of 2018's most pleasant surprises -- an espionage caper loaded with dry wit, dark comedy and two splendid central performances.
April 5, 2019
The new episodes reverberate with a sense of humor that's absurd, bleak, and distinctly British.
June 17, 2019
[Jodie] Comer and [Sandra ] Oh remain mesmerising as the killer-for-hire and the reluctant British agent obsessed with catching her.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 17, 2019
I greeted the return of Killing Eve with five stars but now I'm reducing it to three... I have said, previously, that that the writing is so smart that the incoherence of the plot is irrelevant, but now that incoherency is properly getting on my nerves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 11, 2019
Series two may have stylish boots to fill, but where a second run perhaps can't surprise as much, the characters are more intriguing.
June 11, 2019
It still feels so fresh. Comer is as marvellous as ever, particularly when Villanelle is posturing (she acts acting so brilliantly); her petulant charm never fails.
June 10, 2019
It seems as funny, perhaps lighter and wackier with Oh, Comer and Shaw as brilliant as before, and with that same irresistibly subversive female dynamic.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 10, 2019
I inhaled the first series and thought I'd inhale the second, but - how can I put this? It's a bit slow. Its self-aware, self-congratulatory tone is grating, and the only thing left is a great soundtrack and Comer in some eye-catching outfits.
June 10, 2019
Whatever: the second series thunders on with brio and all its fizzing synonyms, astonishingly better than before.
June 10, 2019
Yet as the season inevitably outgrows the cat and mouse premise that sustained series one and Eve and Villanelle became more intimately acquainted, a slight flakiness start to intrude.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 10, 2019
If the script is a tiny bit less nuanced and the whole not quite as light on its feet as the first season was, it hardly matters.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 6, 2019
Last series we saw a slightly softer side to Villanelle in her interactions with the young girl she abducted. Here [Jodie] Comer gives us an anti-heroine who's battered, scared, in pain, exhausted and outmanoeuvred. She's excellent.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 24, 2019
Season two has been ragged, inconsistent and not nearly as much fun as the first. Even Villanelle's increasingly over-the-top murders have become repetitive and seem randomly dropped in to remind us she's a cold-blooded psycho.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 16, 2019
If anything, this season is a little more off-kilter, especially as Eve dives deeper into the world of spies. The visit to the morgue, in particular, encapsulates the show's delightful inner wackiness.
April 21, 2019
The show knows when to lighten the serious life-and-death stuff with a wicked joke or gag, and it knows when to speed up the electrifying action. And just when we'll been lulled into something resembling comfort, bam!
April 16, 2019
[Jodie Comer] has become the main reason for staying with Killing Eve, which otherwise has shown signs of becoming too knowing and too far-fetched for its own good.
April 5, 2019
When Comer purposely flexes even the tiniest muscle during Killing Eve, you sit up straighter in your seat.
April 4, 2019
The series benefitted last time around by seldom having the two stars in the same episode, and new writer Emerald Fennell maintains that format.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 4, 2019
It's not the deception that's intriguing; it's the honesty.
April 2, 2019
Beyond funny, the series continues to be clever, with plenty of intriguing tricks up its sleeve, the retention of some good characters and we shall see how the newbies develop (two episodes isn't enough for that when they barely get screen time).