Leaving Neverland: Miniseries - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Leaving Neverland: Miniseries Reviews

Page 1 of 5
February 2, 2019
Witnessing yet another character assassination of someone who is no longer here to fight for himself. It's sad and disappointing either way you look at it. I remain conflicted and confused by it all.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
February 15, 2019
Feels more like a hit piece rather than any kind of artistic statement.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 1, 2019
This film asks us what we really knew, what we can ever really know about our idols. There are always doors to be closed, behind which we know nothing.
March 5, 2019
Leaving Neverland is a timely film for the #MeToo era, focusing less on the idea of justice than the simple power that comes from finally being heard.
March 4, 2019
Leaving Neverland comes off like an exorcism of... childhood trauma. [It] feels like more of a productive and healing exercise, rather than a mudslinging celebrity expose.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 4, 2019
The interviews, pulled together Dan Reed, remain extremely focused throughout the two-part documentary series. Despite the 4 hour runtime, Reed grips you and never lets go.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 4, 2019
It may be painful to accept our idols as human, but it's essential because our heroes tend to be reflections of the best and worst in us.
March 15, 2019
Regardless of what you think of him, you're seeing another side of him that you've never seen before.
March 5, 2019
Of course, everything about Leaving Neverland is designed to enhance the spectator's discomfort, from the punishing running time to the unbreakable connection between the viewer and the film's subjects.
March 11, 2019
They both make very very good interview subjects and they were extremely believable both in their detail and, in James Safecheck's case, in his emotional affect.
March 18, 2019
This second installment allows us to understand why there is such a deep-rooted thought about his innocence and why there is a belief that the alleged victims decided to bring him to light for money and fame. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 6, 2019
It's difficult to admit that our heroes are not the perfect deities we make them out to be. We
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
March 4, 2019
Staring down dark allegations surrounding one of the world's most beloved entertainers, you know that we won't ever be able to look away again. Neverland never existed. We can never go back.
March 1, 2019
Independent of how it might lead us to reassess our relationship with Jackson's music, it feels important that these men are able to tell their stories, however many years later, in whatever way they choose.
March 5, 2019
Beyond the occasional message on an answering machine or archival video clip, we rarely hear Jackson's distinct, famous voice. That approach can make Leaving Neverland claustrophobic and draining, but it also makes it powerful.
February 21, 2019
Leaving Neverland is well done, especially with a score that is hopeful yet ominous and sad when called for, but it is undeniably heartbreaking, upsetting, and creepy as hell, and you won't want to miss a minute of it.
March 13, 2019
Once Leaving Neverland hits its stride, though, what it captures so well is the emotional entanglement and exploitation on which Jackson, allegedly, relied.
March 7, 2019
Reed did not over-egg the material and just let the witnesses speak. There is no physical evidence it's true, but what can I say? This is a strange, dark and complex story, but I believed them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 8, 2019
It's hard to watch, too. But it is moments like this, more even than the unflinching detailing of indecent acts, that makes the testimony of Safechuck and his fellow victim Wade Robson so compelling.
January 29, 2019
A deeply empathetic work... The documentary is a thorough, brutal accounting of Robson's and Safechuck's psychological states both as children and as adults, attempting to name what they say happened to them.
Page 1 of 5