Love: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
July 3, 2019
What makes Love on Netflix interesting is not just that we don't ever seem to be fully told to buy Mickey's free spirit Pixie Dream Girl status but that we're never really supposed to buy into Gus's nice guy status either.
July 31, 2018
There are enough good bits to keep it interesting, but just because the show feels more believable than the than the romantic comedies that it eschews doesn't automatically make it more compelling.
July 12, 2018
Far from being the perfect romantic comedy and with a somewhat unequal result, its protagonists love each other precisely because they insist again and again to prove that they are not perfect. Nobody is. [Full Review in Spanish]
April 23, 2018
I watched all of Love in a single night. I have no idea how it'll play for you, but I was totally invested, and I'm awfully curious to see where Apatow, Arfin and Rust take the series in the already-ordered second season. Godspeed, weirdoes.
August 10, 2017
Love, like the genuine article, takes its time and the result is a romantic comedy somewhere between the acid cynicism of You're the Worst and the deceptively aimless dives into white, affluent Los Angeles' semi-urban ennui found in Togetherness...
April 25, 2017
Love, all 10 episodes of which are available on Netflix, could well be the best thing Judd Apatow has been associated with since the short-lived, much-loved Freaks and Geeks all the way back in 1999.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 14, 2017
Love is a sweet comedy with a healthy dose of sex and sex games that Apatow's movies and programs have become known for over the years.
July 14, 2016
It adds some spice to our relationship with romantic comedies, and in its ten emotionally and tonally rambunctious episodes, reminds us why we started going out in the first place.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 26, 2016
A darkly funny, pleasantly shambling romantic-comedy series .
February 23, 2016
Overall, Love stinks. It's essentially about two people who lead lives of vacuity, inanity, vanity, absurdity and idleness. Mickey's sobriety problems don't ring true. Gus's charm is overcooked from the get-go.
February 23, 2016
These characters are incredible messes. There's not a single reason why either of these characters should be together. You know that, too, but you still root for them to get together.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 23, 2016
Judd Apatow and everyone else behind this piece have embraced the ample quirks of lust and sexuality, making 'Love' another great Netflix piece for many to enjoy with their loved ones.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
February 22, 2016
As in Apatow's more personal movies, it's grounded in everyday, familiar problems.
February 22, 2016
Love is witty, infuriating and will win you over from the very first episode, but it will take commitment to follow through the entire season.
February 22, 2016
Less driven by meticulously crafted jokes, punchy dialogue and wacky sight gags, the humor of Love is wrought from the more realistic and melancholic places of damaged relationships, loneliness and the longing for genuine connection.
February 22, 2016
I'm going to err on the side of no for everyone except those who love both Curb Your Enthusiasm and 27 Dresses. That's probably a small overlap of a Venn diagram indeed.
February 22, 2016
It's addictive, infuriating, hilarious, dumb, smart, all over the place, giddy, gross... and maybe a bit like love. Hey.
February 22, 2016
It's not a new story. But it's a lovable one.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
February 22, 2016
Rambling, clever, and populated by realistic and charming characters, this story takes its time getting somewhere, but patient viewers will find the journey worth it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 22, 2016
Apatow, Arfin, and Rust went with the more difficult route, not the easy one, and they should be praised for trying something different, for traveling on a rom-com path not often taken.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 3