Marvel's Luke Cage: Season 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Marvel's Luke Cage: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 29, 2018
The show takes its time establishing its style and re-introducing its characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 28, 2018
This cast is as beautiful as they are charismatic.
June 28, 2018
It doesn't always succeed at its lofty aims, but it's far more audacious and distinctive because it explores the knotted reality of the characters' humanity rather than treat them as mere symbols.
June 27, 2018
For Coker and company, listening to the criticism about the show's weaknesses has meant answering that call by digging deeper into the characters, using them to highlight the different ways that we all struggle to wear the right face.
June 26, 2018
They try to cram so much into those episodes that even potentially interesting storylines turn into a slog, and Luke's journey goes from the understandably rage-filled chapter that we see in every hero's story to a chore.
June 26, 2018
Misty is a force throughout the entire season. A cop so close to turning vigilante, I found myself holding my breath during a lot of her scenes... It's an incredible journey.
Top Critic
June 25, 2018
Bloated, disheveled story but a super soundtrack and performance by Reg E. Cathey.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 25, 2018
It takes a season for Luke to find some sense of certainty, for better or for worse. The next step of his journey may be the most fascinating. But it could have come a whole lot sooner.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 25, 2018
I'm really digging Alfre Woodard's performance as Mariah this season. Now that we're seeing her at her lowest point, Woodard is mixing in some great desperation and anxiety into her typical arrogance.
June 25, 2018
I was pleasantly reminded how delightfully cheesy and goofy the show can be.
June 25, 2018
Much of this new season grapples with crime and other issues within the African American community, not really how the community reckons with outside forces and racism.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
June 25, 2018
Broken into its constituent parts, Luke Cage's narrative elements are all fantastic in theory-and in many cases, the season's stories weave together wonderfully.
June 22, 2018
The season premiere, surprisingly, is directed by Lucy Liu. But [the first two] episodes seemed a bit underwhelming.
June 22, 2018
From the performances to the directing to the fight choreography, every nut and bolt of this narrative has been tightened down.
June 22, 2018
if you told me that Luke Cage's second season would just be 13 hourlong episodes of Mike Colter washing his hands, I would probably still tune in.
June 22, 2018
One of the key visuals in Luke Cage has always been a character wearing the crown. That's fitting as Season 2 seizes it in the best Marvel Netflix season yet.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.7/10
June 22, 2018
Judging from the second season's carefully paced opening, with unresolved family tensions quivering in all directions, it seems this show won't be making the same mistake twice.
June 22, 2018
Luke Cage Season 2 is an enjoyable mixed bag, depending on which of the series' elements you're into the most.
June 22, 2018
The visual style and kinetic, music-driven fight scenes from season one return, and while there may be a few more scraps than the show necessarily needs, the writers make sure to bring some creativity to Luke's predicaments.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
June 21, 2018
There's just too much stuff to really do justice to any of it, and that lack of focus makes it tough to latch on to anything the season is trying to do.
Page 1 of 3