Marvel's Luke Cage: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
January 4, 2020
I would suggest listening to the Pete Rock & CL Smooth tracks that each episode is inspired by - this provides context and it's quite a refreshing way to watch a show - you bump the song and then watch the episode, not many shows have that element.
October 8, 2019
I absolutely loved this season. I just wish it wasn't so dark in some places, and by that I mean literally so dark in parts I couldn't see some of what was going on
July 17, 2019
'Luke Cage' takes a step forward in its second season, that overcomes the first one. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 3, 2019
The one character that is disserviced is Cage himself, but even then a lot of episodes in the middle he's fine. Overall, a strong entry in the MCU, just not a great one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 23, 2019
A great, great season, that really puts the focus on Harlem this time around.
January 23, 2019
Luke Cage Season 2 isn't easily watchable, but it is enjoyable for the most part, and he remains the most consistently written and utilized character in the NYC centred Marvel universe.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
December 28, 2018
[The] second season may or may not repeat that feat, but it sure packs a lot more punch.
October 19, 2018
Your 11th grade English teacher is proud that you care about the show's themes. With all the subtlety of one of Luke Cage's punches, the show beats its messages into the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 27, 2018
This saga of the families is enveloped in a sweet cocoon of one the best television show soundtracks I have ever heard.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 26, 2018
Non-fans might get antsy with at least the first four episodes. But when the show gets cooking it is a good time, fighting crime while winking at our celebrity-obsessed age.
June 29, 2018
The show takes its time establishing its style and re-introducing its characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 28, 2018
This cast is as beautiful as they are charismatic.
June 28, 2018
It doesn't always succeed at its lofty aims, but it's far more audacious and distinctive because it explores the knotted reality of the characters' humanity rather than treat them as mere symbols.
June 27, 2018
For Coker and company, listening to the criticism about the show's weaknesses has meant answering that call by digging deeper into the characters, using them to highlight the different ways that we all struggle to wear the right face.
June 26, 2018
Misty is a force throughout the entire season. A cop so close to turning vigilante, I found myself holding my breath during a lot of her scenes... It's an incredible journey.
June 25, 2018
It takes a season for Luke to find some sense of certainty, for better or for worse. The next step of his journey may be the most fascinating. But it could have come a whole lot sooner.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 25, 2018
You may already guess what season 2 of Luke Cage has "fixed" over its predecessor. Namely, it handles its villains much better.
June 25, 2018
I'm really digging Alfre Woodard's performance as Mariah this season. Now that we're seeing her at her lowest point, Woodard is mixing in some great desperation and anxiety into her typical arrogance.
June 25, 2018
I was pleasantly reminded how delightfully cheesy and goofy the show can be.
Page 1 of 3