Making a Murderer: Season 1 Reviews

Page 2 of 3
December 19, 2015
The series repeatedly brings you to the edge of your seat and holds you there, eyes glued to the screen.
December 19, 2015
The guilt and innocence of alleged criminals is presented as ambiguous and questionable, which could open up an interesting discussion with mature teens.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 19, 2015
It's an addictive, scary indictment of small-town policing and a warning to those poor or marginalized by their neighbors.
December 19, 2015
What comes across is one of the best portraits of what it's like to be working-class and exploited in America I've seen on TV.
December 19, 2015
As Making a Murderer unravels its many layers, viewers will undoubtedly run the emotional gamut, which also helps to keep judgment on Avery and everyone else constantly in flux.
December 19, 2015
What's clear from the first two episodes is that Avery's case (cases, actually) are complicated and mysterious and incredible in that you-couldn't-make-this-s--t-up way.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 18, 2015
Making a Murderer has the potential to be as popular and thought-provoking as its forebears-and to have real-life repercussions.
December 18, 2015
It's a fitting entry for Netflix, the king of binge-watching, as it's hard to hit pause on Making a Murderer once it's rolling through the queue.
December 18, 2015
What emerges... is a disturbing portrait of tribal politics in small-town America and a chilling reminder that the criminal justice system has many more sides than scripted television's carefully curated tales of "law and order."
December 17, 2015
I consumed the four episodes made available to press last week at a rate of intake I normally reserve for oxygen, so the chances are you've already finished it.
December 17, 2015
It's not only a gripping true-crime story, it's also the most moral one I've seen in a long time.
Full Review | Original Score: A
December 17, 2015
This excellent series captures a system that so easily loses sight of its most important duty: finding justice for its victims.
December 17, 2015
They take complex legal subjects and make them interesting, boiling down mundane legal bureaucracy into a cohesive story that still is able to treat all victims - no matter what side of the cell bars they are on - with respect.
December 17, 2015
An immediately engrossing, roller coaster of a documentary.
December 17, 2015
Is Avery the victim of corrupt authorities, a cold-blooded psychopath, or both? "Making a Murderer" implores viewers to keep up with each twist, and the result encourages binge-viewing with purpose.
December 17, 2015
After one episode, I was curious. After two episodes, I was concerned. After three episodes, I was angry. And now, having seen four episodes, there's a fair amount of champing at the bit.
December 17, 2015
We may think we know the answers, but by the end of the fourth episode, we've also witnessed enough out-of-nowhere surprises to accept that real life doesn't follow a script.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 17, 2015
Even in the age of the high-quality limited series, it's rare to come this close to the feeling of reading a book - immersive, compulsive and unpredictable, but also exhausting and sometimes mundane and repetitive.
December 17, 2015
It's a stunning story, told very effectively in a no-frills style that employs no narration, dramatic re-enactments or digital effects.
December 17, 2015
It's a harrowing but worthy trip.
Page 2 of 3