Making a Murderer: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 26, 2016
Watch, think, discuss, debate. If television has any value in modern society, this it is.
January 14, 2016
Making a Murderer goes deep instead of broad, exploiting the inherent drama of a murder investigation and subsequent criminal trials.
Top Critic
January 12, 2016
I found myself just as captivated by what Laura Ricciardi and Moira Demos had captured in the peripheral vision of the camera: a detailed portrait of class intersections extending well beyond the courtroom.
January 7, 2016
Few series pack a punch like this, and, further stoking your moral outrage, the tale this 10-hour docuseries tells is real.
January 6, 2016
Making a Murderer falls into a growing subgenre of true crime narratives that may captivate audiences precisely because they aren't primarily concerned with captivating us at all.
January 4, 2016
Expect an absorbing tale of justice rendered but not necessarily justice served.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 23, 2015
Making a Murderer is shockingly, disturbingly, infuriatingly a true story which took place in Wisconsin between 1985 and the present, and let me tell you-it will devastate you.
December 19, 2015
Making a Murderer doesn't have that arresting peg of the audience surrogate, which can so often be a galvanizing force in and out of a dense journalistic tale.
December 19, 2015
What's clear from the first two episodes is that Avery's case (cases, actually) are complicated and mysterious and incredible in that you-couldn't-make-this-s--t-up way.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 18, 2015
Making a Murderer has the potential to be as popular and thought-provoking as its forebears-and to have real-life repercussions.
December 18, 2015
It's a fitting entry for Netflix, the king of binge-watching, as it's hard to hit pause on Making a Murderer once it's rolling through the queue.
December 18, 2015
What emerges... is a disturbing portrait of tribal politics in small-town America and a chilling reminder that the criminal justice system has many more sides than scripted television's carefully curated tales of "law and order."
December 17, 2015
I consumed the four episodes made available to press last week at a rate of intake I normally reserve for oxygen, so the chances are you've already finished it.
December 17, 2015
It's not only a gripping true-crime story, it's also the most moral one I've seen in a long time.
Full Review | Original Score: A
December 17, 2015
This excellent series captures a system that so easily loses sight of its most important duty: finding justice for its victims.
December 17, 2015
They take complex legal subjects and make them interesting, boiling down mundane legal bureaucracy into a cohesive story that still is able to treat all victims - no matter what side of the cell bars they are on - with respect.
December 17, 2015
Is Avery the victim of corrupt authorities, a cold-blooded psychopath, or both? "Making a Murderer" implores viewers to keep up with each twist, and the result encourages binge-viewing with purpose.
December 17, 2015
After one episode, I was curious. After two episodes, I was concerned. After three episodes, I was angry. And now, having seen four episodes, there's a fair amount of champing at the bit.
December 17, 2015
We may think we know the answers, but by the end of the fourth episode, we've also witnessed enough out-of-nowhere surprises to accept that real life doesn't follow a script.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 17, 2015
Even in the age of the high-quality limited series, it's rare to come this close to the feeling of reading a book - immersive, compulsive and unpredictable, but also exhausting and sometimes mundane and repetitive.
Page 1 of 2