Man Seeking Woman: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 15, 2015
Man Seeking Woman too often reminds one of that guy at the bar who is better at the joke set-up than the punchline because it takes SO long to get to it.
January 15, 2015
Man Seeking Woman has the potential to grow, but it'll get there either by broadening its scope or sympathizing more with its characters.
January 15, 2015
Some if not a majority of Man Seeking Woman is forced and juvenile. And the closing Hitler-Maggie scene in Episode 1 might well repulse those viewers who have stuck around for that long.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 15, 2015
The issue is mostly that the absurdist scenarios just fall flat, visually.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 15, 2015
As exhausting as I found some aspects of the show, the series' imagination largely won me over. It made me curious about future episodes, about FXX's willingness to air very niche shows, about the rise of whimsy-comedy on cable.
January 15, 2015
The big problem for this new FX relationship comedy is that its premise is too good. It's so inspired that long after the premise should have receded and let the relationship part take over the show, the premise still commands most of our attention.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 14, 2018
I can't say I'm in love with Man Seeking Woman. But I can definitely say that I'm looking forward to a third date - and that I feel I'm experiencing something truly, and maybe even memorably, different.
January 20, 2015
Jay Baruchel, who's always been the kind of adorable underdog people want to root for onscreen, is the perfect actor to maroon in the bizarro plot twists Man Seeking Woman throws at the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 15, 2015
Man Seeking Woman is so perceptive and funny, it doesn't need run-of-the-bad-comedy-mill bodily-function jokes to hold our attention.
January 15, 2015
The show's strength is its spot-on dissection of the mental games we play with ourselves when we're buoyantly infatuated with a new crush or completely deflated with heartbreak.
January 15, 2015
Man Seeking Woman is strongest when it's using inventive and absurd situations to visualize Josh's emotional state or to put a fresh twist on old rom-com and sitcom situations.
January 15, 2015
There's an undercurrent of sadness to the show that evens out the weirdness and makes it worth staying around.
January 15, 2015
By stripping down dating to its bare essentials and then going for the extremes, Man Seeking Woman delivers a funny half hour of comedy unlike anything else currently on television.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 15, 2015
This new comedy is a prime example of a set of ideas that might have seemed OK in a pitch meeting or on the page but don't really cohere as a television program.
January 15, 2015
Man Seeking Woman is a rare and unique comedy, but raises the bar so high with its initial episodes that it will have to work extra hard to keep up this pace.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
January 15, 2015
There is so much to love about Man Seeking Woman. The performances are brilliant and fit the mood perfectly.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 15, 2015
This is a wildly uneven show, capable of big laughs but also of going badly awry, even if everyone's line between the two will be drawn differently.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 15, 2015
What makes Man Seeking Woman so promising is that it's such a strong showcase for Baruchel.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 15, 2015
Using flights of fancy or daydreams to express a character's emotional state is not a particularly new idea, but what sets this series apart is its commitment to the concept.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 14, 2015
Man Seeking Women is hilarious because it's both sweet and crude.
Page 1 of 2