Marry Me: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
September 13, 2016
The humour here recalls the glib, rapid-fire gags of sitcoms such as How I Met Your Mother, with dialogue crammed full of one-liners and pop- cultural references.
January 15, 2015
Marry Me is a comforting nostalgia tale about long-term, intimate relationships - y'know, those things that used to develop when two people were in same room, communicating face to face.
November 11, 2014
Could be a pretty cool little comedy.
October 21, 2014
Charming sitcom has language, sexual jokes, drinking.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 15, 2014
It's already impressive that Marry Me has figured out its voice, although it clearly borrows heavily from Happy Endings in that regard.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.1/10
October 15, 2014
I'm hungry for a rom-com that shows us a couple with their own bent definition of destiny and Marry Me could be it. We just have to hope that it gets a little easier to root for Annie and Jake as time goes by.
October 15, 2014
Marry Me is one of the strongest, if not the strongest, new network comedies of the fall season.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.6/10
October 15, 2014
It's damn hard to recommend this show either now or in the coming weeks.
October 15, 2014
This show is meant to be endearing, but it's often excruciating.
October 15, 2014
There's fine-tuning to be done here, but Marry Me has the potential to fill the Happy Endings-sized hole in all of our hearts.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 15, 2014
I'm not sold yet on who these people are. So far, they are stereotypical rom-com characters. She's the high strung woman obsessed with marriage, and he's the laid back, not obsessed one. I'm not really sure why they are together yet...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.9/5
October 15, 2014
Overall, the joke rate was impressively Happy Endings-paced, which means you don't dwell too long on the clunkers before a good one comes around.
October 15, 2014
Marry Me is much more focused on its problematic core couple, but it's got a deep bench of supporting talent.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 15, 2014
It's a refreshing change of pace from the normal ridiculously cute couples that inhabit the world of TV comedies.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 14, 2014
Pilots are written far advance of when they actually air, but the point still stands that more natural, evergreen humor is the show's sweet spot.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 14, 2014
Unlike many romantic comedies, Marry Me leaves you with two main characters who could carry stories that do not revolve around the progress of their relationship, which gives it room to grow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 14, 2014
Whether Wilson and Marino will manage to endear themselves to viewers for an entire season, only time will tell; but Marry Me has more than its share of moments, making it a solid choice for some Tuesday night laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 14, 2014
What sets the show apart from the rest of the season's cookie-cutter rom-coms is that it skates past the meet-cute to ask us to root for a fractious long-time couple for whom snark heals all self-inflicted wounds.
October 14, 2014
At its best the show's language is inventively and diversely funny, drawing laughs in two or three or four different ways within the space of seconds.
Top Critic
October 14, 2014
I tend to gravitate toward it because it has both good jokes and lots of jokes, because I love the cast, and because I've followed Caspe into Weirdsville before and never, ever been sorry.
Page 1 of 3