Marvel's Cloak & Dagger: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Marvel's Cloak & Dagger: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 19, 2018
It's a proceed with caution type of show. Sure, it might manage to surprise you, but more likely it's yet another "this is fine" Marvel superhero show.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 27, 2018
Because so much time was spent examining both characters as individuals...now, I feel like I as an audience member appreciate it so much more.
August 27, 2018
Cloak & Dagger is letting its protagonists develop a different dynamic, with help from the unique link between their minds.
July 31, 2018
With a tight episode count, modern sensibility, and a dedication to twisting the usual television tropes, Cloak & Dagger has the potential to follow Marvel's Runaways as a top-notch entry into the canon.
July 16, 2018
And while we're only two episodes in, it seems as though Cloak & Dagger is shaping up to be one of [Marvel's] best tales to date.
July 16, 2018
However, there is much that's fresh about the series as well which makes it a must-watch, from its treatment of its classic characters to its surprising connections to the wider franchise.
July 16, 2018
I'm pessimistic and optimistic about Cloak & Dagger, and hope the show's openhearted thoughtfulness can energize its rather bargain-bin super-mythology.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 16, 2018
The violence, drug use and occasional language may draw an eyebrow from some parents. But, "Marvel's Cloak & Dagger" shows potential to be a strong voice for what concerns the upcoming generation, while still providing entertaining superhero action.
July 16, 2018
That may seem pulpy to you, but the series manages to remain grounded at all costs.
June 29, 2018
Cloak & Dagger had a strong opening, and I can't wait to see where this slow-burn of a series goes.
June 29, 2018
Cloak & Dagger is exactly what so many of us have been desperate for: A small-stakes superhero character drama that also subverts stereotypes.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
June 22, 2018
Cloak & Dagger is intriguing and a perfect start to another Marvel show. The twists and turns will keep fans coming back for more week after week.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 22, 2018
Rather than dropping into standard teenage existences for both characters, introducing friends and confidants to act as audience surrogates, the series shows rather than tells.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 15, 2018
Cloak and Dagger hasn't escaped the problems that plague its brethren, but it has introduced some fresh components that make the latter feel like a real possibility.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 14, 2018
[The] supporting cast also gets an upgrade.... while each of these tweaks is relatively minor on its own, all together they put the series in a much better position to succeed than a direct adaptation would.
June 12, 2018
Sex, drugs, police violence in gritty teen superhero tale.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 8, 2018
I'm excited for Cloak & Dagger because of the thing it's going to become, the dance the characters are beginning to choreograph around each other -- the anticipation and the narrative tension.
June 8, 2018
Stream It, because the chemistry between Holt and Joseph is apparent in their brief scenes together, so we're looking forward to seeing them together more going forward.
June 8, 2018
Cloak & Dagger doesn't have full control of its powers in its first two episodes, but through its commanding young lead actors and its timely and relevant themes, it shows much potential.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
June 8, 2018
Cloak & Dagger is also something we haven't seen from Marvel in years: a canon without the baggage of legions of fans, expectations, and pre-loaded storylines.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 3