Masters of Sex: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 17, 2019
I'm not certain I'll be able to watch a single episode of this season without thinking about this intriguing and adorable coupling.
January 17, 2019
Virginia Johnson and Bill Masters kick off season two with their double- and triple-layered relationship working as its own parallax, occupying a grey area between love, friendship and work.
January 17, 2019
I was worried the second season of the show wouldn't measure up to the first. I'm not anymore.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 16, 2019
Ultimately, this is a show that works not because of narrative tricks but because the relationships at its heart are beautifully written and brilliantly played.
February 17, 2016
On this show, doctors have sex in the hospital in the hopes of demystifying it, not because they're sneaking off like horny teenagers into an empty classroom during the school dance.
September 16, 2014
[Showrunner Michelle Ashford] is admirably experimenting with how a period piece that's true to history can also include the stories and perspectives of sexual and racial minorities.
August 8, 2014
Masters of Sex is the show you want to love and yet with every passing episode, there's one less reason to try.
July 28, 2014
Masters of Sex doesn't get nearly as much attention as it deserves.
July 21, 2014
Like Mad Men, another cable period drama, Masters of Sex is good at making broad points about what we know now versus what we knew then.
July 14, 2014
With lead characters this complex, showrunner Michelle Ashford has plenty of material to plumb for episodes to come.
July 14, 2014
Together [the characters] have a slightly unsettling chemistry that, despite the weirdness of their characters, feels real.
July 14, 2014
[It] remains the rare show willing to dissect the stodgy constructs of polite society... It proves that the world as we know it doesn't need to end to inspire moments of beauty and horror. It just needs to be undressed a little.
July 14, 2014
The main story of Bill and Virginia's relationship remains wonderfully opaque.
July 14, 2014
After a stunning debut season, Masters of Sex, the brilliantly evocative drama about sex researchers Masters & Johnson, continues to amaze.
July 11, 2014
It is intelligent, witty, quick-paced and surprising; it is tragic without being emotionally devastating.
July 11, 2014
Masters & Johnson returns for a second season with all of its charms intact, juggling an assortment of plots built around sexuality, including the inherent lie in how the principals try to characterize their ongoing affair as "research."
July 11, 2014
The best news is that this intelligently complex, beautifully shot and performed series comes back in top form, with a perfect match of style to substance that explores Masters' and Johnson's different reactions to his appearance at her doorstep.
July 11, 2014
Trying to find the words to adequately express how elegantly Masters Of Sex has matured into its second season is difficult.
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 11, 2014
For a show about sex and attraction, Masters of Sex is very cerebral, measured, distanced. But so are its characters, who use their intellects to protect their vulnerabilities.
Top Critic
July 9, 2014
Better, richer, more compelling than season one.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
Page 1 of 2