Melissa & Joey: Season 1 Reviews

November 5, 2018
I want to give this show a chance and I will... Hopefully, it was just the introductions, jamming the background in, and getting the characters acquainted with each other that made it seem so jumbled and bad.
November 5, 2018
Because this is on ABC Family, it comes with a big helping of cheesy jokes, but Hart and Lawrence share a buoyant, delightful chemistry.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 5, 2018
Melissa & Joey is by no means offensive, and I wouldn't even call it awful -- it's fine to have on in the background, or on mute -- but it's not good, and is a really strange programming choice for a cable network in 2010.
November 5, 2018
But overall, the show doesn't live up to its stars, and the use of strong language and references to underage drinking and sex ensure that it's not for tweens.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 30, 2010
Despite the backstory, the humor is conventionally jolly. Hart has the comic edge over Lawrence: She's girlish and goofy, like a plush-doll Jane Krakowski.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 17, 2010
It's not only the trash that's stinking on Melissa & Joey.
August 17, 2010
I'm a bit of a dope when it comes to Hart; I squealed inwardly when I first learned of this show. She may not be destined to play Lady Macbeth, or even Rosalind, but she can brighten a TV screen.
August 17, 2010
Melissa & Joey are working again, and working hard, goshdarnit, for you. Your job is to sit there, numb, and remember Melissa and Joey fondly. Think about it: Is there anything that would be nicer to have back with us than the 1990s?
August 16, 2010
It's far from unwatchable, and there's potential in its leads, if they're left to their own devices.
August 16, 2010
ABC Family has been on something of a creative roll on the dramatic side. Melissa & Joey, by contrast, represents a decided lurch back toward the bland old days, grasping at TGIF's ostensible niche while offering precious little for which to be thankful.
August 13, 2010
The Melissa & Joey pilot is no great shakes. But Melissa [Joan Hart] and Joey [Lawrence] could be.
Full Review | Original Score: B