Mom: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 17, 2017
[Anna] Faris is winning as a woman who has made every wrong choice a person can make.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 17, 2017
This is the kind of show that you want to root for. It's relatable, but if there is any shortfall right now, it may be in the comedy department, because while the show is funny at times, most moments are merely smirk-worthy.
October 17, 2017
Really, though I think it's because Anna Faris is just so damn likeable.
October 17, 2017
Mom feels like more than an opiate. We're early in the 12 steps. But heart and commitment mean everything.
February 19, 2014
It's hard to play addiction recovery for both laughs and empathy, but Faris and Janney are doing a brilliant job of exactly that.
December 16, 2013
The talk isn't dialogue-it's just gags, totally synthetic and rolled out by the yard.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 18, 2013
In a season of comedies awash in deviant parents and long-suffering children, Mom stands apart with its even distribution of pathologies.
October 8, 2013
Mom's set-up is the stuff of maudlin Lifetime movies, but believe it or not, everything here is played for laughs, generally to great effect.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 7, 2013
While the jokes in Mom are often stingingly crass, Faris and Janney score more often than not.
September 27, 2013
Watching Mom is like eating a scoop of vanilla ice cream. It's sweet and enjoyable, but it'll leave you craving something a little bit more exciting.
September 24, 2013
I saw good actors mouthing what I'm just going to boldly say were terrible lines based on what I had written down. And then I woke up, many hours later, drained of the will to watch television.
September 24, 2013
The one real failing of this show is French Stewart.
September 24, 2013
As for yours truly, I like it. A lot. Because I laughed. A lot.
September 24, 2013
I'm genuinely optimistic for Mom.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 24, 2013
Mom is about shtick, and it has hired a core group of actors who know how to do it.
September 23, 2013
It's trying too hard to be a "sitcom" that looks and feels straight out of 1992. The bones are there, but the execution is lacking.
September 23, 2013
Beneath the armor plating of punch lines beats a wounded and affecting heart.
September 23, 2013
The writing rings true as often as not, and the actors do not wave their arms or raise their voices unduly; they play to the human moments between the rim shots.
September 23, 2013
Mom is the first multi-cam comedy to crack me up in a decade.
September 23, 2013
Faris is terrific, and so is Janney.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 2