Mom: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 17, 2017
[Anna] Faris is winning as a woman who has made every wrong choice a person can make.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 17, 2017
Mom feels like more than an opiate. We're early in the 12 steps. But heart and commitment mean everything.
December 16, 2013
The talk isn't dialogue-it's just gags, totally synthetic and rolled out by the yard.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 18, 2013
In a season of comedies awash in deviant parents and long-suffering children, Mom stands apart with its even distribution of pathologies.
September 24, 2013
I saw good actors mouthing what I'm just going to boldly say were terrible lines based on what I had written down. And then I woke up, many hours later, drained of the will to watch television.
September 24, 2013
I'm genuinely optimistic for Mom.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 24, 2013
Mom is about shtick, and it has hired a core group of actors who know how to do it.
September 23, 2013
Beneath the armor plating of punch lines beats a wounded and affecting heart.
September 23, 2013
The writing rings true as often as not, and the actors do not wave their arms or raise their voices unduly; they play to the human moments between the rim shots.
September 23, 2013
Mom is the first multi-cam comedy to crack me up in a decade.
September 23, 2013
Faris is terrific, and so is Janney.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 23, 2013
at its core, Mom has a solid group of characters and a very strong cast (including French Stewart as the restaurant's dictatorial chef) who, by the end of the episode, display the kind of chemistry sitcoms need.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 23, 2013
Mom is one of the very few sitcoms on television... to feature characters who are not thoughtlessly affluent.
September 23, 2013
It's a punch-line shooting gallery, setting 'em up and knocking 'em down, with a rhythm reminiscent of the classic Bob Newhart sitcoms.
September 23, 2013
Given the number of self-absorbed and annoying fathers on sitcoms, another self-absorbed and annoying mother is fine. She helps keep the party balanced. But she also needs to make the party funnier, and CBS' new Mom does not.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
September 23, 2013
Lorre knows what he's doing with modern families -- he wrote some of Roseanne's best lines -- and he's got a better actress playing his new mom under fire.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 19, 2013
Janney seems like a natural for this sort of comedic turn, and her character's zen-like attitude, not over-thinking things and living in the moment, hits home.
September 18, 2013
It gets this particular job done with flair, vigor, a punchy script and two leads who make it all fairly addictive.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 17, 2013
Mom deals lightly with the serious problem of addiction and manages to be clever, not sanctimonious.
September 16, 2013
Luckily, Faris and Janney are funnier than the material.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 2