Night Stalker: The Hunt for a Serial Killer: Limited Series Reviews

January 25, 2021
Night Stalker's focus on the hunt for Ramirez keeps the series at a steady pace, but it's also pretty dry storytelling, a mostly straightforward, uneventful recounting of events, attacks, eyewitness sightings, and police chasing down leads.
January 16, 2021
I was off-put by the salaciousness of it... It does not congeal to me at all.
January 16, 2021
Unfortunately, I thought this was kind of slick and sensationalistic.
January 14, 2021
The Night Stalker: The Hunt for a Serial Killer treats all the victims as equally important, and it's clear -- at least through Russell's lens -- that the detectives viewed them that way, as well.
January 14, 2021
In erasing Ramirez, Russell spent too much time establishing Carrillo and Salerno as heroic protagonists.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 14, 2021
For a series about such a brutal string of killings, "The Night Stalker" is filled with humanity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 14, 2021
The murderer isn't brought into focus until the series' final episodes. It's an effective way to keep him ghostly and terrifying, and ensure this L.A. story isn't simply the story of Richard Ramirez.
January 14, 2021
Naturally, this made the sofa-bound viewing experience less than comfortable, but the film-making was first rate.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 14, 2021
There is a story to be told about life in suburban Los Angeles, where the Night Stalker proved that the veneer of bucolic normalcy is so thin, so tenuous... Maybe one day that story will get told. This is not it.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 14, 2021
Unlike many recent true-crime docuseries, Night Stalker is relatively uninterested in the cultural underpinnings of the Ramirez case, choosing instead to take a procedural approach.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 14, 2021
The crimes are disturbing. The police work is intriguing. The interviews cover a lot of ground and bring some emotion into the story. Four episodes and I never looked at my watch, and occasionally I felt like I could have watched more.
January 14, 2021
Leave aside the sinister tone and genre cliches, and you're left with not all that much: no exploration of evil, just a rote itinerising of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 13, 2021
The series misses out on the chance to make a more memorable study of an unforgettable crime spree.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 13, 2021
Clogged with high-gloss but somewhat ludicrous footage, "Night Stalker" knows it's about the deaths of innocents only inasmuch as that makes for a riveting story, but it lacks the seriousness of purpose to tell its story well.
January 13, 2021
The "nature of evil" questions that Ramirez inspires often wander into navel-gazing banality, but the human cost of reining in such evil elevates Night Stalker from mere police procedural into something far more sophisticated and complicated.
January 13, 2021
Night Stalker is an interesting true crime series that still feels a little disappointing when compared to other major event series like it in the last few years.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4