Once Upon a Time in Wonderland: Season 1 Reviews

March 28, 2019
It's all meant to be a paean to the imagination. Too bad the effects pry some of us out of our imaginations and into the tech lab.
March 28, 2019
Too much of the show is taken up with unnecessary contrivance. Yet, when the program works, it's surprisingly easy to get past all of that to the show's core, which is old-fashioned, family TV that's refreshingly straightforward about its aims.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 11, 2013
Wonderland promises to be eye-popping. What about heart-rending?
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 10, 2013
Why borrow a classic if you're not going to do anything with it?
October 10, 2013
If the writers and the network are content and able to mirror Carroll's knack for dreamy digression, Once Upon a Time in Wonderland could be all that, and a side of magic cordial too.
October 10, 2013
The challenge of creating a successful spinoff is to give the new show its own identity while still reminding viewers of how much they love the older show. Once Upon a Time in Wonderland... does that quite well, suggesting it might even be better.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 10, 2013
As in Once, the computer-generated landscapes and creatures don't quite work - they look unworldly, but in a cheesy way.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 10, 2013
I've wished for a show that rows against the current of TV trends that I've grown tired of. And my wish came true! I just should have been more specific and wished for a better show.
October 10, 2013
it's Alice who carries this tale, and it's good to see her again.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 10, 2013
If we could get high enough, maybe we could see some reason to sit through this Disneyfied pastiche of Lewis Carroll and "1,001 Nights." Or maybe not.
October 9, 2013
Once you're in Wonderland, you might remember how dense and unfortunately dour life is there. As soon as you get there, you feel like you're ready to leave.
October 9, 2013
Alice's battles with various computer-animated and live-action threats are entertaining and, usually, rather witty, though her traveling companions, the White Rabbit and the Knave of Hearts, get most of the best lines.
October 9, 2013
Compared with the original, Wonderland boasts a more streamlined story (at least for now) that's built upon an easier-to-understand quest: Save the boy; go back home.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 9, 2013
I'll give it 3.5 Tweedledees on a scale of 5 Tweedledums. Once Upon A Time In Wonderland is very nice to look at.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 9, 2013
Good family fun.
October 8, 2013
Unless Alice and her rabbit pal have more tricks up their sleeve than Snow White and the gang could muster, ABC's visit to Wonderland might once again leave the network less in need of a looking glass than a rear-view mirror.
October 7, 2013
The brief look we get hints that maybe they can pull of some magic in this other world. It looked, if ever so briefly, visually intriguing - tiny Alice, eating mushrooms and running amok, etc.