Orange Is the New Black: Season 6 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 14, 2019
Season 6 continues to provide commentary, regardless of how socially inept it may come across, on privilege, fragility and those who are complicit with being a part of systems of oppression.
September 20, 2018
The writing, always very good and this year aided and abetted by local novelist Merritt Tierce, is even better when it's focused on the characters that have -- in fits and starts -- been so vividly brought to life.
August 7, 2018
It restores the sense of discovery that season one held, back when Piper learned the ways of prison life - only this time, it places almost all of the cast favourites in a newborn state... But it isn't quite back to its best.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 31, 2018
This season's misguided priorities are particularly confounding given that the show has markedly more compelling material to work with.
July 31, 2018
I think this season rediscovered those moments of humanity, and the show was stronger for it.
July 30, 2018
It's just good enough to make me interested in watching season seven, but not good enough to make me want to see anything beyond that.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 30, 2018
This season showed that they can change locations and lose a good quarter of the show's characters and still preserve the show's DNA: next season will show us if they've gained any kind of self-reflection on the limitations of that DNA in the process.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 27, 2018
Orange Is the New Black has a flair for reinvention...the themes of these episodes have such profound resonance.
July 27, 2018
This season proves that like anyone else, these women crave joy and peace despite what is continually presented to them. Most profoundly, they desire love - for themselves and for each other.
July 27, 2018
This season tries to find a compelling central conflict, but after the heart-racing stakes that made Orange so bingeable for five seasons, there's not much left. Prison comes with a sentence. Orange Is the New Black never felt like one - until now.
July 27, 2018
Some episodes are dazzling, some sloppy, but Orange and its creator, Jenji Kohan, are still pulling off tricks and twists that few other shows dare attempt.
Top Critic
July 27, 2018
Fans who hated the fifth season should mostly love the sixth, which is a return to normal, or as "normal" as OITNB ever gets. But the end does feel a little bit closer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 27, 2018
Time moves faster in this new 13-part run, though it's not always easy to tell - and surely, in real life, only prison can rival the dullest school lessons when it comes to the agonisingly slow passage of time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 27, 2018
For all its faults, this is still compelling viewing. The cast are wonderful, and the writing sharp as a tack. And for all the discomfort of watching this brutality and injustice, the sombre tone is not unearned.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 26, 2018
The show enters its sixth season, however, looking like a fashion that's faded out of style, one that hasn't cleared the prison walls but which, in TV terms, has pretty clearly jumped the shark.
July 26, 2018
I asked myself if I hadn't had my fill of the whole thing... And then there would be a great scene, or even just a reminder of how much I enjoyed spending time in the company of Nicky or Gloria, and I happily kept going.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 25, 2018
If you don't have the patience to wait out the bumpy beginnings (and middles), I don't blame you. But in Season 6, just as in past seasons, something good awaits the persistent.
July 23, 2018
As it stands, Orange Is the New Black remains a show so full of rich characters, ripping dialogue and great performances that I can focus on those things and not the characters or storylines that don't work.
July 23, 2018
This season might be the most brutal yet.
July 20, 2018
In retrospect, [it] probably should have ended after its fourth season...The show seems to be straining to replicate the dynamics between inmates that once proved so engaging. The new season has its moments, but overall feels devoid of tension.
Page 1 of 2