Orange Is the New Black: Season 7 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 3, 2019
After six long years, the show manages to deliver a thoroughly satisfying final season that will make you laugh, cry and clench your fists in equal measure.
August 23, 2019
One of the best of the peak TV era with barely a false note to be heard.
August 7, 2019
The seventh and final installment of Orange is the New Black is its most thoughtful, its most assured, and its most satisfying yet.
August 1, 2019
I was left in awe of the characters from Orange is the New Black who saw prison for what it was - a hopeless hellscape - and still managed to tap into their pre-prison humanity and infect others with their kindness.
July 31, 2019
Piper's position at the very end of Orange Is the New Black was predetermined. Taystee's represented a choice on the part of the writers. No show of the current era has so sharply used juxtaposition to depict inequality in America.
July 31, 2019
Orange Is The New Black is back and it's better than ever. The episodes and the overall tone of the series is snappier, funnier and full of insight.
July 30, 2019
Consider it a miraculous feat of storytelling that the union of these two villains, the ice queen and the limp pushover, became the highlight of Orange Is the New Black' final season. To my surprise, I shipped Fig and Caputo - and I wasn't the only one.
July 30, 2019
Its greatest hallmark, the one we should always remember, is how Orange Is the New Black humanized the lowest members of our unspoken caste system by simply forcing us to remember they're not that different from us.
July 30, 2019
More than any preceding series this, still, is essentially about women's friendships, bitternesses, vicious vicissitudes, but you also get, increasingly, a sense of the savage atrophying of simple bloody time on the incarcerated.
July 29, 2019
The show must escalate conflict while at the same time wrapping up individual stories...Orange Is the New Black... complete this task well, even if predictably most of the time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 29, 2019
Orange Is the New Black might be big and overcrowded and a little too fond of obvious metaphors for its own good, but hey, so is humanity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
July 29, 2019
OITNB leaves the air a pioneer that hardly any other series has caught up to-and with some of its best episodes in years.
July 29, 2019
Like other intelligent series, this one ends without pushing too far with shockers and twists, instead aiming for real drama.
July 26, 2019
After setting up its endgame nicely in season 6, the final season of OITNB puts all our most beloved (and reviled) characters at a crossroads.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 26, 2019
Sometimes hilarious, often devastating, and always ready to shine a light on humanity's grand societal failings, Orange Is the New Black leaves us with a last ride full closure and chaos.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
July 26, 2019
The prison drama... has stumbled in the latter half of its run, as it heads into a final season elevated and given a sense of urgency and purpose by a timely hook involving immigration and detention.
July 26, 2019
Orange is the New Black... once again proves how Jenji Kohan's series was a true game changer for Netflix and TV.
July 26, 2019
We're better for knowing these women.
July 26, 2019
It is a bittersweet note to end on, but it is utterly true to itself, and Orange Is the New Black has always been that.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 26, 2019
That's one of the problems with OITNB - there are so many characters with so many varied issues that we can be left feeling a little short-changed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 2