Orphan Black: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 2, 2018
One thing is certain, with Maslany's impressive acting gymnastics at its center, Orphan Black continues to be a highly rewarding viewing experience.
July 24, 2014
Orphan Black continues to prove just how compelling a story centered on several strong female characters can be, particularly when it so readily explores sexual and gender identity alongside an intricate plot and complex characterizations.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
June 20, 2014
Part of what makes Orphan Black so appealing is, like Sherlock, its comfort in shifting the tone of the story so suddenly.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 8, 2014
This was a solid episode but not as good as last weeks. We finally meet a new Clone, Allison and Donnie deal with fall out from last week's revelations and Cosima gets sicker.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 28, 2014
Orphan Black self-consciously apes Maslany's multiple-personality routine, switching between a dizzying array of genres but injecting them all with almost-subversive humanity and humor.
April 24, 2014
Orphan Black remains high-order lo-fi sci-fi, brilliantly engineered for dynamic multiplicity - feminist allegory, conspiracy thriller, cheeky satire - electrified by Tatiana Maslany's all-star performance(s).
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 22, 2014
A lot was riding on this premiere, and I think the show was successful in replicating the action and anxiety of Season 1, even while introducing new characters and enemies for the clones.
April 22, 2014
Every futuristic mystery could benefit from having Max Headroom in the cast.
April 21, 2014
The most amazing thing about Orphan Black is that there are moments where you forget that the primary female characters are played by the same actress.
April 21, 2014
It was a thrilling hour and we've only just begun!
Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/5
April 21, 2014
Going into the second season, expectations are high and if the first episode is any indication, we're in for an exciting ride.
April 21, 2014
I would like some more questions answered, but the thrill of the chase will do just fine for now.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
April 21, 2014
I'm very much onboard for Season 2 and hope to spread the word to those who haven't watched this show yet on what they're missing out on.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.8/10
April 21, 2014
Orphan Black could be in for yet another innovative, smart and powerful run.
April 21, 2014
Sorry to say, the sometimes arbitrary storytelling, the lackadaisical direction, the reliance on coincidence and miraculous plot turns all undermine the drama. Maslany deserves better.
April 21, 2014
I think it's safe to say that if you enjoyed year one of the show, you'll be very happy with this newest entry in the ever-evolving sage of Sarah Manning and her clone siblings.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.3/10
April 19, 2014
Maslany is so good here that one wishes she wasn't so often forced to deal with exposition in her dialogue instead of the truly remarkable characters she's crafted from each clone but it's impossible to deny the pure entertainment factor of Orphan Black.
Top Critic
April 19, 2014
I'll always value how Orphan Black's ability to shift and combine genres - sometimes in the same scene - kept me hooked through the first season while supercharging the second.
April 18, 2014
From the space between wreckage and rebuilding comes much of our great literature, music and art. And now, Orphan Black.
April 18, 2014
This style of no-style is often distracting in Canadian-made shows that clutter American cable networks. Somehow, Orphan Black is one of the few shows to make provenance irrelevant. It really has been engineered in a lab.
Page 1 of 2