The Orville: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 12, 2019
The third episode, despite its good intentions and even being clearly better than the pilot, fails to completely redeem the series. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 4, 2019
Overall, the show is entertaining, and it's a great look at how we view our favorite sci-fi shows-and how we can make them feel fresh in the modern age.
January 31, 2019
There's something both weighty and rewarding about seeing a generally lighthearted show on network TV wrestle with topics that other shows pointedly ignore. Plus, sometimes there are Billy Joel songs.
January 19, 2019
MacFarlane isn't trying to go where no man has gone before, he is instead attempting to recapture what we loved about previous Star Trek shows. The Orville is throwback television done exceptionally.
January 8, 2019
A purposeless piece of Star Trek fan fiction that almost entirely has to exist to keep the talent in question happy regardless of what actually shows up on screen.
January 2, 2019
At the very least, The Orville is worth a little more time and inspection to see if MacFarlane has anything interesting to say.
October 16, 2018
Whatever you may think of The Orville, there is no denying that this is a heartfelt reiteration of Star Trek's 52-year legacy and captures the tradition of what makes that world so distinctive and creative.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
September 28, 2018
There are few buzzes, though, and little hilarity in this depressing effort.
July 9, 2018
The Orville, series that MacFarlane writes and stars, is the most trekkie in time, even though it is plagued with his scatological humor. [Full Review in Spanish]
March 2, 2018
Each episode boasts plenty of mystery, banter-filled humour and a plot that wouldn't seem out of place in a big screen production starring Zoe Saldana, Zachary Quinto and Chris Pine.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 6, 2018
While on the surface this may seem like a parody of a science fiction show but at its core, this is a legit science fiction show that uses humor to tackle engaging social and political concepts.
Full Review | Original Score: A
February 5, 2018
Stretched out to hour-long episodes, it's dismayingly limp.
December 29, 2017
I don't love it at all. Indeed I could summarise that first episode in three words. Not. Very. Funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 20, 2017
This show is neither a good spoof or a good dramatic sci-fi show.
October 25, 2017
The result is-you guessed it!-fine. But not at all what we wanted.
October 21, 2017
It's not awful, which is somewhat surprising.
October 12, 2017
Like Galaxy Quest, The Orville appears to be trying to contrast its high-concept space adventure with the comedy of interpersonal conflict, but unlike Galaxy Quest, it's not very good at it.
September 19, 2017
Boy, does it need work.
September 18, 2017
The tone for Seth MacFarlane's latest TV project is all over the place. The jokes, when they do come, fall flat.
September 14, 2017
... the show immediately and ignominiously becomes the first real stinker of the fall season, a deep-space dud, recommended only for those who like to study cases of creative bankruptcy.
Page 1 of 3