Our Cartoon President: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 6, 2019
No matter how much you might despise Trump, this really feels like it's preaching to the converted without any imagination whatsoever.
June 6, 2019
There is not one ounce of ambiguity in Our Cartoon President.
June 14, 2018
The show quickly figured out the difference between vicious and vital satire, with especially good sendups of Cabinet members (many of whom are still serving!), the Fox News echo chamber and the MSNBC mortification machine.
March 29, 2018
Unless the series quickly develops real teeth it will do Trump & Co an unintended service by giving them a folksy makeover that lets them slide on pretty much everything. That would be ... well ... sad.
March 27, 2018
Silly presidential satire has mature language, decent jokes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 27, 2018
Sadly the only major accomplishment of "Our Cartoon President" is to remind us that at some point, every joke ceases to be funny.
March 27, 2018
There's potential in Our Cartoon President.
March 27, 2018
While Our Cartoon President certainly has its moments, the best news for Showtime might be it's only stuck with this experiment in quick-turnaround animation, at least initially, for 10 weeks.
March 27, 2018
Jokes about Trump tend to feel fresh for only five minutes, until the president himself sinks to a previously unimaginable low...when you stray too far from how they really are, you seem clueless. When you get too close, it doesn't seem all that funny.
March 27, 2018
I suggest you avoid the less than bush-league Our Cartoon President.
March 27, 2018
There's no possibility for satire with Trump, because everything he does and says is self-satire.
March 27, 2018
This cartoon show is worth sampling, but it's yet to find its footing.
March 27, 2018
When Stephen Colbert brings out a cartoon Trump on his late night show, it's not always funny. But a full series... is better realized, in part because the characterizations (and voices) behind the wide variety of family and staffers are so sharply done.
March 27, 2018
Come for the serial reveals, stay for the life lessons. (Don't judge a book by its cover. Pick up your room.) Or come for the lessons and stay for the reveals. It works either way.
March 27, 2018
"Some are worried that this show might humanize me," Trump says in the introduction to the first episode. Our Cartoon President's greatest flaw may be that it does just that. Whether it's aware of that misstep, however, is less clear.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 27, 2018
[It] lacks a comparably clear prism. It's a little workplace comedy and a little family comedy, but even with the possibilities inherent in animation, it barely exaggerates the principle characters beyond their naturally occurring level of exaggeration
February 14, 2018
... tries maybe too hard to do too much.
February 9, 2018
Who needs to devote a whole half-hour to a reminder of our current state of affairs, especially with a show that rarely justifies its running time?
February 9, 2018
It's mindboggling: The show vacillates between scathingly funny and frustratingly softball, which suggests it could be funnier about Trump, but for some reason it's restraining itself.
February 9, 2018
But Our Cartoon President, by not attempting to keep pace with the news cycle, provides a playful, surreal alternative to Colbert's own late-night show and those of Trevor Noah, Samantha Bee and Seth Meyers.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 2