Perry Mason: Season 1 Reviews

June 29, 2020
Highly watchable though the series is, the holes in its plot and the clichés in its thinking soon become unignorable.
June 29, 2020
This is Mason as a dishevelled, drunken, weaselly kind of night crawler - unrecognisable as a man who's about to transform into LA's most heavily pomaded alpha defence attorney.
June 29, 2020
It's just still not clear why this is a Perry Mason adaptation instead of any number of known gumshoe properties or, clutch my pearls, an original character.
June 26, 2020
Perry Mason will remind you of that long list of TV antiheroes that became popular with Tony Soprano, Don Draper or Walter White. But in 2020, we need unambiguous heroes, not anachronistic archetypes. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 26, 2020
This could be a long, grim stretch and I don't know if I have the willpower, much as I like Rhys.
June 25, 2020
The first Perry Mason series grounded itself in a rigid formula... The new Perry Mason, though, abandons one formulaic genre for another, in this case the saggy, ponderous, narratively inert eight-episode prestige drama.
June 22, 2020
Perry Mason is gorgeous to look at and sink into. Its portrayal of 1930s California is beautifully shot and populated by an excellent cast. It's just frustratingly messy for a show so lovingly put together.
June 22, 2020
Despite the stylish appearance of this show and the impressive cast, it lacks brio. There's only so much acting that Rhys can do with his face - at some point he has to deliver a killer line and the script isn't sharp enough.
June 21, 2020
Too much of this show, a punishing eight installments, feels like yet another iteration of what we've seen already, elsewhere and often superior.
June 20, 2020
It takes a full five episodes to get to the courtroom drama viewers familiar with the character expect. By the end of this eight-episode, over-long, slow-paced prequel, all the pieces are finally in place -- just in time for it to be done.
June 19, 2020
A gorgeous show in terms of production design and the cast is strong from top to bottom, but writers Rolin Jones & Ron Fitzgerald struggle to find a story worth investing in for at least the first half of the eight-episode season.
June 18, 2020
If there were less ruminative wheel-spinning and more dramatic substance to this Perry Mason, the overkill might not be so distracting.
June 18, 2020
Why this character? Why this setting? Why this genre? Forget it, Jake; it's Reboottown.
June 18, 2020
All we get is an overwrought love letter to all things noir, Steinbeck, and the Depression itself, a bleak and depressing reminder that, even in victory, the lowest of the low still have it worse than the upper crust.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 18, 2020
Slow and grisly to a fault, this slog of an investigation into the kidnapping and murder of an infant is just too dark for the coronavirus era.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
June 18, 2020
A dull slough through L.A. noir.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 18, 2020
Pick your favorite courtroom metaphor-hung jury, mistrial-but judged by the high standards of excellent crime drama, a category that's flourishing, Perry Mason doesn't stand out.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10