Poldark: Season 3 Reviews

May 20, 2019
For while Poldark certainly has its share of soap-worthy plot lines, Debbie Horsfield's adaptation of Winston Graham's epic saga is cut from sophisticated cloth.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 12, 2018
The cast is uniformly excellent. Jack Farthing is particularly fine as odious banker George Warleggan.
September 6, 2018
Poldark is what we critics call a pile of old tosh. And yet, somehow that doesn't stop it from being undeniable if distinctly bonkers fun.
June 21, 2018
I suppose the angry, starving, proletariat of Cornwall was just waiting for a candidate they could believe in.
November 1, 2017
Not since Downton Abbey has TV offered such a captivating, soapy period drama.
October 2, 2017
At its heart, Poldark is partly a soap - a swashbuckling, Cornish soap - that embraces all of its intrigue, backstabbing, power plays, and affaire de coeur.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 2, 2017
I'll be honest: This was a fairly bloated start to the season, which is what happens when you jam two episodes into one and need to kick off all your story lines at once, but now we are ready for everything that they can throw at us.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 12, 2017
Poldark made a welcome return to form, with rather less of the depressing porridge of poverty that sluiced through the last series.
September 12, 2017
Aidan Turner still a magnetic lead, but Series Three feels like the point where the show puts greater emphasis on activities beyond Ross's copper-finding strops, and demonstrates the strengths of an excellent -- and expanding -- ensemble cast.
August 30, 2017
The honest truth? Can't wait for next year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 14, 2017
Poldark is, as always, almost bizarrely gripping and entertaining.
June 19, 2017
Its a tense instalment.
June 19, 2017
Quite why this absurd Mills & Boon-esque farrago is one of the Beeb's flagship events every time it comes back around is a mystery, though I suppose it's solid proof of the value of giving the viewers what they want.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 19, 2017
A dark moon hung over last night's Poldark.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 13, 2017
A bit like the average distance between humans and rats, in Poldark you are never far from birth, marriage or death. In this first episode of the third series, there was a full house, the emphasis being very much on death.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 13, 2017
Poldark is just that: televised holiday romance, a teenage fantasy with clotted cream. It's nice to be -- and to have it -- back.
June 12, 2017
It's an absorbing, atmospheric antidote to the spray tans and gymbots preening all over our screens on summer staples like Love Island and Big Brother.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5