Pose: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pose: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
March 22, 2019
Pose's dialogue is often stilted and preachy, but because it's campily heartfelt, it mainly works.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 22, 2019
I just wanted it to cut to the story...But when it did it revealed, beneath all the vogueing, archness and bitchy one-liners, a deep, beating heart and a soul in pain.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 22, 2019
This show stars the greatest ensemble of trans actors yet gathered, playing trans roles, and it is groundbreaking, inspirational and clearly very important. Although it is also, I'm afraid, sort of hammy bollocks too.
March 22, 2019
Pose glittered on the surface, but its pain was drawn from a deep well.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 21, 2019
I am head over heels in love with this show.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 21, 2019
Pose is aspirational and celebratory -- and in pursuit of that, a little anachronistic, importing to the New York of 30 years ago all the trans commitment of today. Never mind. This is, after all a study in the lives of the saints, set to disco.
March 18, 2019
Pose deserves a long, lavish history telling tales of love, pain and derring-do.
March 15, 2019
Thoroughly fabulous.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 31, 2019
It is the best network family drama of 2018.
Top Critic
December 18, 2018
Elektra's arc [...] was one of the most beautiful stories I watched on TV this year.
December 6, 2018
The stars of the show are awesome - likeable, compelling, inspiring and full of wonderful contradictions.
October 29, 2018
Pose combines the glitz and production quality of The Get Down with the sprawling, expansive story of the best of the American Crime Story anthology.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 25, 2018
Sit back and enjoy Pose for its unique combination of style and substance. It is a show with important things to say, but within a narrative driven by grand emotions, great music and the joy of finding oneself in the things we love.
July 26, 2018
Pose does not ignore the outside, but it chooses not to let that perspective define it.
Top Critic
July 24, 2018
As queer scholar Jeanne Vaccaro half-joked recently to a friend of mine, Pose is "Paris Is Burning meets 7th Heaven." And why shouldn't it be?
July 23, 2018
It's the opposite of what we're used to - majority straight and/or white casts with tokenized characters occasionally thrown in - and it's part of what makes Pose, as many reviews pointed out, "remarkable" or "revolutionary."
Top Critic
July 23, 2018
The great thing about Pose isn't that it does the singular thing it does with any restraint. It's that, finally, in 2018, it's got the chance to do the singular thing it does, at all.
July 23, 2018
Sappy or sugary as that may sound, and it may have been at times, Pose's first season stayed true to its mission to the end. And as Blanca's deserved victory shows, that's something to cheer.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 20, 2018
Thanks to its stars' ability to inhabit fully-formed star personae from its first moment, it's so real to me.
July 16, 2018
Pose serves as an important reminder that their community has always fought the good fight.
Page 1 of 4