Pushing Daisies: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 14, 2018
I find it difficult to write about "Daisies" because it's just hard to quantify. Saying it is cute and funny and sweet isn't enough and probably makes it sound less-than-appealing to many readers. It's just good.
June 13, 2018
The minute I watched Kristin deliver one of many long, convoluted monologues, I was hooked. Not gonna lie: The morbid subject matter, visual eye candy, and the handsome Lee Pace only helped to feed the addiction.
June 13, 2018
With great power comes great responsibility, and with a great premise came a great TV show full of a wonderful ensemble cast, oddball humor, and delicious-looking pies.
June 13, 2018
Pushing Daisies is funny, confident and entirely individual in a landscape of shows trying too hard to be what they think their audience might want.
June 13, 2018
Pushing Daisies is a series with heart and warmth, and a wholesome quality that almost makes you forget you're watching the dead - often with horrific injuries - rising from their morgue slabs to avenge their deaths.
June 13, 2018
Throughout its 22 episodes, the show repeatedly imagined death not as a loss, but as the beginning of a new adventure...
June 13, 2018
The standout star of Season 2 is Kristin Chenoweth, who stole many a scene as the diminutive Olive Snook.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
June 13, 2018
I am disappointed that such a creative series couldn't go out in a less banal way-but I get it. I accept it. Acceptance: the final stage of grief. Goodbye Daisies.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 13, 2018
I admire this show - it's so original, and sequences such as the "Sound of Music" goof are right on. But I admire it more than I enjoy it. I find it hard to care about the emotional storylines, any more than I might care about, oh, Daffy Duck.
June 13, 2018
I am freshly impressed with Pushing Daisies' persistent, admirable inventiveness.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 13, 2018
"Pushing Daisies" continues to charm, as it wihps together bizarre ececntricities... But "Daisies" is not goopy or trite. There's often an undercurrent of smart, subversive commentary...
June 13, 2018
"Pushing Daisies" is an acquired taste, but even if it is a little much, I respect its aesthetic ambition and I don't begrudge its existence.
June 13, 2018
Daisies' fairy-tale story is so unlike anything else on TV that it seems new even a year later. Unveiling one dazzling image after another, Daisies has a timeless, picture-book look.
June 13, 2018
"Pushing Daisies" is too much of a feast to not take a sweet and filling bite.
June 13, 2018
It still has the same problem, which is exactly where it can take itself, but the ride remains as delightful as the bright shiny colors with which the show lavishly decorates itself.
June 13, 2018
It remains, in this fledgling second season, a vibrantly different, thoroughly engaging, whimsically endearing hour of television. Few series this year, new or otherwise, can claim that.
June 13, 2018
Daisies is a show unlike any other, and not everyone will like it. But even those who don't can embrace it as a sign that creativity, confidence and capability have not fled broadcast for cable just yet.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 13, 2018
But was notable for the interplay between the established P.I. Emerson and his budding sidekick, Olive. The two had genuine chemistry, bouncing ideas (and chests) off each other.
June 13, 2018
Building on the strong characters and quirky settings introduced in the first season, season two ambitiously delved into the characters' back stories, introducing us to several long-term storylines...
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
June 13, 2018
I adore this show, its subtleties and nuances. I'm just not sure large numbers of other people get it and how clever it is, worryingly.
Page 1 of 2