Reaper: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 8, 2019
Reaper should be a keeper.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 8, 2019
It's a weird concept, but if you've got an open mind, you'll quickly find that it's a pretty damned cool one, blending humor, action, and kick-ass special effects into one of the best shows on TV today.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 8, 2019
Overall, Reaper had a great run for its inaugural season. While it did suffer from a few too many formulaic mid-season outings, the premise is sound and the characters are memorable.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.3/10
November 5, 2019
When you look at current television, you'll find plenty of comedies and super-hero shows. Reaper blends the two genres, giving viewers a series that centers on a character that most of the people who will love this show can relate to.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 5, 2018
Reaper's droll take on the Devil and Sam's awkward efforts to track down the wayward souls is quite funny, and Sam's best buddy Bert (Tyler Labine) adds some Jack Black-like madcap energy to the series.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 5, 2018
I'll admit, that was a revelation I didn't see coming.
October 5, 2018
For now I'll just savor what I saw, and politely beg you to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 5, 2018
The series is essentially light-hearted: Sam is a sweet-natured superhero with a dust-buster. He may be working for the source of all evil, but one can't help but cheer him on.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 5, 2018
If I sound too enthusiastic about a series that ends up, in the pilot, being a bit too obsessed with special effects, I apologize. The Devil made me do it. Or at least Ray Wise did.
October 5, 2018
Reaper is not at all grim; it's actually quite rewarding.
October 5, 2018
It's possible the procedural element of Reaper -- track down one of hell's escapees every week -- will grow tiresome, but if future episodes are as funny and lithe as tonight's premiere, this show will be one hell of a good time.
October 5, 2018
With its young, often winning cast and its sparky, humorous dialogue, Reaper pays homage to the memorable shows created by Joss Whedon.
October 5, 2018
In pulling these tried-and-true elements together, Smith and series creators Michele Fazekas and Tara Butters also garnish Reaper with several deft little touches.
October 5, 2018
Why worry about [logic] when you can enjoy the unexpected thrills, the sweetness of Sam's crush on fellow box store worker Andi (Missy Peregrym), the occasional bits of devilish humor and Wise's silky smooth portrayal of Satan?
October 5, 2018
I see a lot of rich potential in Reaper -- and that's frequently not the case with network pilots.
October 5, 2018
Tyler Labine makes a most excellent wacky bearded sidekick.
October 5, 2018
It's not every day that the funniest new comedy of the fall season is an hour long and littered with thriller and paranormal elements instead of 22 mostly predictable minutes pounding to a laugh-track beat.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 5, 2018
There have been other shows about bounty hunters for Satan, but none that have had as much highwire fun with it -- or acknowledged the coolness and suckiness of it.
October 5, 2018
It's as confident and plainly fun a TV pilot as you'll find.
October 5, 2018
With his shock of salt-and-pepper hair and his handsome-bad-man face, Wise has taken on many villainous roles over the years, but he's a standout comic here, playing the devil as a rascal on holiday, perpetually pleased with his awesomeness.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 2