Reaper: Season 1 Reviews

November 8, 2019
Reaper should be a keeper.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 5, 2018
I'll admit, that was a revelation I didn't see coming.
October 5, 2018
For now I'll just savor what I saw, and politely beg you to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 5, 2018
If I sound too enthusiastic about a series that ends up, in the pilot, being a bit too obsessed with special effects, I apologize. The Devil made me do it. Or at least Ray Wise did.
October 5, 2018
Reaper is not at all grim; it's actually quite rewarding.
October 5, 2018
With its young, often winning cast and its sparky, humorous dialogue, Reaper pays homage to the memorable shows created by Joss Whedon.
October 5, 2018
In pulling these tried-and-true elements together, Smith and series creators Michele Fazekas and Tara Butters also garnish Reaper with several deft little touches.
October 5, 2018
Why worry about [logic] when you can enjoy the unexpected thrills, the sweetness of Sam's crush on fellow box store worker Andi (Missy Peregrym), the occasional bits of devilish humor and Wise's silky smooth portrayal of Satan?
October 5, 2018
I see a lot of rich potential in Reaper -- and that's frequently not the case with network pilots.
October 5, 2018
Tyler Labine makes a most excellent wacky bearded sidekick.
October 5, 2018
It's not every day that the funniest new comedy of the fall season is an hour long and littered with thriller and paranormal elements instead of 22 mostly predictable minutes pounding to a laugh-track beat.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 5, 2018
It's as confident and plainly fun a TV pilot as you'll find.
October 5, 2018
With his shock of salt-and-pepper hair and his handsome-bad-man face, Wise has taken on many villainous roles over the years, but he's a standout comic here, playing the devil as a rascal on holiday, perpetually pleased with his awesomeness.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 5, 2018
Reaper [is] a supernaturally amusing refuge in a season that otherwise threatens to be paradise lost.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 30, 2017
Reaper can be taken half seriously or only a quarter seriously and still be royally enjoyed -- a devilish good time, a helluva show, all that sort of thing, and a remarkably disarming lark besides.