Rectify: Season 4 Reviews

August 20, 2018
Its exploration of moral and spiritual landscapes suggests new and unexpected directions for television.
June 20, 2018
No TV show captivates me in the same way Rectify does, and no other show makes me consider the world so differently.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 28, 2016
We may never see another show like Rectify. It was a program as unafraid of silence as it was of melodrama. And it's another series on this list that entirely transcended its set-up.
December 18, 2016
In an ironically satisfying ending, 'Rectify' suggests that closure is a mirage, always on the horizon but never at your feet.
November 28, 2016
With its skewed insights into carceral cruelty, Rectify took the slot that "The Wire" used to occupy: it's the smart crime drama whose fans have trouble persuading others to watch, because it sounds too grim-or maybe too good for you.
November 14, 2016
Ray McKinnon's melancholic masterpiece finds hope in new places (and fresh faces) as the downtempo series rapidly approaches the end.
Full Review | Original Score: A
November 9, 2016
In its final season, with but eight episodes total, Rectify continues to take risks.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 28, 2016
By showing Daniel alone in a new place with no one he truly knows, we're placed in his shoes. Alone, scared, isolated in his own mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
October 27, 2016
There are few series with this much concentration on character and the small moments that make our days better, even in the face of suffering and sadness.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 27, 2016
As ever, Rectify remains most interested in exploring the gray areas, and with the New Canaan House, it does so in a setting where morality is even more black-and-white than it is in Paulie.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 27, 2016
Rectify allows us to know and care for these characters even when they try to hold us at arm's length, by embracing their truths in quiet moments that connect us.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 26, 2016
Rectify is a validation for television.
October 26, 2016
I approached the new season with trepidation: How could McKinnon separate his protagonist from the other characters and still keep everyone interesting and well-utilized? Turns out, I never should have worried for a second.
October 26, 2016
The series is a vital piece of art, because it presents a world TV often forgets, and it does so with beauty, bittersweetness, and humility.
October 26, 2016
No other series so poignantly probes the human condition and our concept of reality, identity, what we know and what is true with such alluring complexity.
October 26, 2016
They're still [doing] good work here.
October 26, 2016
Creator Ray McKinnon's genuine compassion for Daniel and those in his orbit, including his family back home in Paulie, GA... makes Rectify one of TV's truest, finest and deepest dives into pure character drama.
October 25, 2016
Rectify regularly draws audiences in the low six figures. All the more reason to be grateful that it will have a full if brief run to tell its small congregation that where there is life, there is the chance to be reborn.
October 23, 2016
As it approaches its conclusion, Rectify thus turns to humankind's most fundamental questions.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4