Rescue Me: Season 7 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 12, 2018
They say all's well that ends well. The Rescue Me gang should take comfort in that.
December 12, 2018
On and on and on with the same old Tommy/Janet/Sheila stuff, as if Tommy is some great catch? Two-and-a-half fantastic seasons; seven seasons total.
December 12, 2018
You can squander years of excellent work and hours of magnificent television by losing your creative touch or staying around too long... The final episode of Rescue Me proved all of that definitively.
December 12, 2018
The relevance that had made the show so enjoyable early on was absent for most of the episodes, and Rescue Me fizzled out well before the end.
December 12, 2018
Rescue Me has had its ups and downs, just as Tommy Gavin has, but Season 7 delivers the goods.
December 12, 2018
Settles the future of Ladder Co. 62 and honors firefighters for their sacrifices without bathos.
December 12, 2018
Much of what I've seen of this season feels like a mix of throat-clearing and perhaps (a little) atonement for past excesses.
December 12, 2018
The show wrapped just the way it should.
July 13, 2011
Leary has been unfailingly honest in this role.
July 13, 2011
Rescue Me has been television's most effective fictional response to the day when hijacked airliners crashed into the World Trade Center and the Pentagon.
July 13, 2011
Despite sometimes loopy comic relief, the stories were heartbreaking.
July 13, 2011
At times hilarious, at times obnoxious, and then so riveting that you will almost forgive it every one of its past sins.
July 13, 2011
A well-made, enjoyable series that was created with the best of intentions but somehow never quite rose to greatness.
July 13, 2011
Rescue Me is addicted to a misperception of what artistic freedom means, equating misery, histrionics and outrageousness with hard truth.
July 13, 2011
Rescue Me has also humanized the survivors and reflected the way their battles are the battles that many of us fight, in our own ways and our own worlds.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 13, 2011
The writing continues to be top notch, blending drama and humor in a way that feels true to life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 13, 2011
A complex, often darkly funny rumination of the nature of heroism, the cost of survivor guilt, and the joys and limitations of firehouse camaraderie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 13, 2011
The melding of comedy and drama is as deft as ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 13, 2011
The final chapter of Rescue Me begins, unsparing as ever as it alternates between raunchy dark comedy and lacerating drama.
July 13, 2011
The series finale underscores the plusses and minuses of a dramedy that might have fared better by dousing some of its excesses.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 2