Rescue Me: Season 7 Reviews

December 12, 2018
On and on and on with the same old Tommy/Janet/Sheila stuff, as if Tommy is some great catch? Two-and-a-half fantastic seasons; seven seasons total.
December 12, 2018
You can squander years of excellent work and hours of magnificent television by losing your creative touch or staying around too long... The final episode of Rescue Me proved all of that definitively.
July 13, 2011
Leary has been unfailingly honest in this role.
July 13, 2011
Despite sometimes loopy comic relief, the stories were heartbreaking.
July 13, 2011
A well-made, enjoyable series that was created with the best of intentions but somehow never quite rose to greatness.
July 13, 2011
Rescue Me is addicted to a misperception of what artistic freedom means, equating misery, histrionics and outrageousness with hard truth.
July 13, 2011
Rescue Me has also humanized the survivors and reflected the way their battles are the battles that many of us fight, in our own ways and our own worlds.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 13, 2011
A complex, often darkly funny rumination of the nature of heroism, the cost of survivor guilt, and the joys and limitations of firehouse camaraderie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 13, 2011
The melding of comedy and drama is as deft as ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 13, 2011
The series finale underscores the plusses and minuses of a dramedy that might have fared better by dousing some of its excesses.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
July 13, 2011
Middling start, but we've stuck with Rescue Me this long, and no point in bailing now.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 13, 2011
It's hard to have faith in Rescue Me after this long, long ride, when all of the characters feel like they've gone through the same four or five beats at least a couple dozen times.
Full Review | Original Score: C