Scandal: Season 4 Reviews

May 7, 2018
Olivia and Cyrus, at least, will always be tied together. In the twisted world of Scandal, a relationship like that counts for a lot.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
May 7, 2018
In an episode full of bold moves, this is the boldest, and one that augurs the promising continuation of Scandal's season four rally.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 7, 2018
This episode started with an explosion and ended with a bang.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 7, 2018
This was an excellent start to the season. We've seen Olivia estranged from Fitz before, but this time her isolation from Abby, Quinn and Huck will be interesting to see play out.
May 7, 2018
Well THAT was certainly a way to wake up. I'm not sure what nightmare Olivia was screaming from because DAYUM. I wonder what it was like for Kerry to film that scene!
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
May 7, 2018
Fitz and Olivia are playing a weird game of chicken. Someone's got to blink first.
April 19, 2018
This felt hollow somehow. I was not happy with this ending, and I want a redo. Most of it was fantastic, but of all their season finales, this ending was certainly the weakest.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 19, 2018
Neither half is satisfying on its own, and they make for a baffling whole, culminating in the show's worst-ever season finale.
March 26, 2018
Going down that rabbit hole again? Olivia Pope, you've lost your damn mind.
March 26, 2018
I do appreciate Shonda and co. shaking things up a bit tonight, even if my fantasy boyfriend Jake's future in Olivia's life is uncertain.
March 26, 2018
Fitz and Olivia, you crazy kids.
March 26, 2018
Scandal is back, and full of drama from its first frame onward (one would not expect anything less).
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 26, 2018
Olivia wants to be a gladiator again... and I am game.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 26, 2018
What we do know is that we're ready to get our white hat back on.
October 1, 2014
"Randy, Red, Superfreak and Julia" did an impressive job tying up last season's loose ends, starting new story lines and holding dear everything we love about the show: crazy Mellie, crazier Cyrus, Olivia's wardrobe and lots more.
September 26, 2014
I love my Scandal with a little (or a lot of) feminism, so I approve those messages.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.3/10
September 26, 2014
It's time to celebrate. Scandal is back-like, really back. Of course this was just one episode, but it truly felt like a statement effort.
September 26, 2014
All in all, solid season opener. It looks like the focus will be back on the characters, and I'm glad about that.
September 26, 2014
I, for one, am super glad that Scandal is back if for no other reason than red wine consumption and shirtless Jake.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 26, 2014
Rhimes' script is a triumph of subtlety following last season's histrionics, and suggests a better understanding that Scandal can and should be a rollercoaster, but it can't be all drops and no climbs.
Full Review | Original Score: A-